FACING REJECTION 4 TIMES IN 1 WEEK

in #life6 years ago (edited)

rejection.jpg

Today I am opening up to you guys.
Rejection stings. It is so painful. It is like the last part of this month I have just been getting rejected. This happens on 4 accounts. You know the way you apply for something and you see yourself getting it. That was me.

Rejection #1

So earlier this year I got approached by a reputable digital marketing company to be their head of strategy. They found me online because of all the content that I do. I was not even looking for a job but everything looked so good. I knew the company and the nature of work they do. This would be the ideal position for me. I was excited about this new role. Everything checked out, they loved my work and they even gave me an application assignment to do which I nailed. However, I did not get the job because I was not ready to give up my remote lifestyle. They really wanted me to work 9-5 and have my both feet in the job. Despite how much that job would be the best thing ever, I could not give up my blog and my agency. This broke my heart! I have been in this position too many times.

Rejection #2

I had applied for some journalism programme but it did not go as planned. I got that annoying rejection letter. I felt so bad because I am one of those “apply and forget” people. When I apply for a job or a position, I force myself to forget it so that I do not “jinx’ it by talking about or even hoping for it. Seems this strategy did not work.

Rejection # 3

I had applied for a women’s entrepreneurship programme that also sent me a rejection letter. So they say that 6,700 people applied and they had to pick 100. The way I had spent time working on that video application and essay application, I was so sure I would be among the 100. So the lucky 100 will be going to London for a week and then for a 3 week’s placement in UK companies and then they come and use what they have learned to improve their companies. That would have been a once in a lifetime opportunity for me especially in the digital marketing field which is the second thing I do apart from being a wines and spirits journalist. I remember my eyes welling up on Wednesday afternoon when I got that gut wrenching email.

Rejection #4

This was the worst of all the rejections. This was the one that broke my heart the worst. I had applied for a placement for some German programme where they pick people from different sectors in Sub Saharan Africa. I knew very well I would get in. I had even paid someone to help me package my application. They often pick people and place them in German companies for 2 months. That was my dream. However, I got rejected. Just like that, all the ideas that I had, came tumbling down.

I am wondering why all these things had to all come at the same time. Why now. Why am I getting all these rejections all of a sudden? These four things have made me wonder, “What’s the point of applying for more stuff?”
I sure hope I am being redirected to something better.
I sure hope this will all make sense in the future.
Dear God, are you trying to tell/ teach me something?

Guys, how do you deal with rejection?

Sort:  

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with @steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work and never lose hope

My mum likes to say that God has something better in store for you. Rejection is part of life. So long as you are not lacking much keep pushing and you will finally get your lucky break.

I sure hope so. I am learning to accept things as they come and hope for bigger opportunities. And your mom is right. Thanks.

Rejection as much as we hate it, it is part of life. That does not make it better still. I remember this time I applied for a job, got shortlisted went for three interviews only for them to send me a rejection letter that I was overqualified.

You will get over this and as some have already said there is something better coming along and everything happens for a reason

I love the way you look at it. There is always something great coming. Cheers!

I know you can feel it. Maybe SBD gets to 50. Remind me of this comment then

This is going to sound very cliche, but as they say "Everything happens for a reason".

Hello @jeanwandimi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Maybe you'll find my experiences helpful: well, some of my worst experiences were when I tried to fit into a scenario that wasn't meant for me. Many times I have been paying a horrendous price for continuing on a path which wasn't suitable for me. I was feeling not good enough, the task/situation/job etc. was too difficult, and I was blaming myself for not succeeding or at least doing fine. For me it turned out that if something doesn't happen as I planned it or expected it to happen, then it wasn't a good option for me after all and something much better awaits. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you!
All the best,
Klaudia

Yes life has its surprises and I agree. I also like the quote that says that when you get rejected, you are being redirected to something else that is better. I have to learn to trust the process.

Thanks.

Sorry to hear you going through so much rejection in one week. I think you just need to believe that better things than those offers will come to you, or that maybe you weren't ready for the changes yet. Don't stop trying, though! :)

There's nothing a good night sleep can't fix. Have a good one and keep pushing.

Thanks. Actually, you are right. I woke up feeling better and ready to put myself up for more opportunities. Thanks.

Sorry to hear about all these rejections.. it really sucks when your expectations aren't met and all you had hoped for comes falling down, that's an all too familiar feeling :(

I deal badly with rejection.. I must admit it really knocks me out , although, only for a short period of time.

The last time I was applying for a new job I went through 12 interviews and was rejecting by all but the last, slowly eating up my hope. I remained vigilant in my effort though and in the end I was rewarded, despite how down I was after each rejection. I guess good things really comes to those who waits.. I believe you have something great in front of you ;)

That is so true. It is natural to feel deflated but looking at the bigger picture gives us the motivation we need.
And thanks for sharing your story & reinforcing that fact.

I have become immune to rejections, got so many especially since Jan 2018, from jobs, scholarships, proposals. You just console yourself something better is coming along.

As bad as rejection is, I take it has part of human existence and for that it does not bother me too much when it happens especially if it is human rejection.

That is true. Thanks for the kind words friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86