I Am Enough

in #life5 years ago (edited)

46900466_2436338323059992_9202404212674134016_o.jpg

"I am enough!"

As part of an ongoing experiment in reframing negative and limiting language in my internal dialogue by replacing it with uplifting words and self-celebration, I marked my mirror with these words today, following the advice of renowned British Hypnotherapist Marisa Peer.

Marisa feels that the psychological pain we endure as humans stems from the deep-seated feeling that we are not enough in and of ourselves. She points out that as babies, we arrive primed to connect: to reach out and to love ourselves and our caregivers. It doesn't matter if we have sick on our shirt or banana in our hair - we love ourselves. We don't worry about having crazy hair, chubby legs or no teeth. Until disapproval starts to erode that innate sense of inner equilibrium and confidence, we know that we are deserving of love and care, and we are not afraid to ask for or receive it.

tom-raven-babies.jpg


This message that there's something wrong with us - that we are not enough exactly as we are - is communicated to us erroneously during our earliest encounters with the influences of society. It becomes so entrenched in our minds that we go through life crippled by it. But this notion is an imposter, a virus, a 'splinter in the mind'. The voice that tells us how insufficient we are, how unlovable we are, is wrong. It must be overwritten by the voice of compassion and self-appreciation in order to rediscover our innate lovability and capacity for connection and free expression.

raven-milo-snow.jpg

"Today is the day I turn my life around." It is.

Even as I am packing down my #studio and preparing to surrender to the unknown, I know that I have what it takes to turn this situation around and take care of myself and my family. I look into my own eyes and I see the burning desire to pull the rabbit out of the hat; to turn confusion into clarity, pain into wisdom and bad habits into good. I have the means. I have the inspiration. I will. I can. And so it is ❤

With love,

Jay


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative, and radically unschooling Mama, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you ever so much 😊🙏

Congratulations @jaytaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58