Welcome to My World #2 - The Wild Fig

in #life7 years ago

20170701_141948.jpg

Weekends are for fun, adventures and family time! Most weekends, we will end up out and about somewhere for lunch on either the Saturday or Sunday. It normally starts with a discussion / bicker in the car amongst the three of us as to where to go for breakfast. We're normally all so hungry that nobody can think straight and everybody is pretty damn grumpy due to the empty tummies! haha!

This process takes so long that by the time we all finally settle on a place, breakfast time has passed and the lunch bell is ringing, which as I am sure you can imagine, means the grumpiness levels are SOARING! lol... oh... did I mention that we get grumpy when we are hungry! lol!

Nonetheless, we survived, as I am sitting here writing this... all is well in our world once again as tummies are full.... for the next few hours anyway...>DOOM DOOM DOOM<

20170701_142203.jpg

Today we decided to go to a restaurant called "The Wild Fig", which is located alongside the Liesbeek River, in Mowbray, Cape Town. On arrival, Jude was about ready to have a nervous breakdown due to hunger, so needless to say, his burger was ordered immediately and the risk of death if not served within minutes, was stressed to our waiter. (And yes, he did actually get breakfast... cereal and a chicken mayonnaise sandwich - but hes a growing boy hey...)

20170701_123806.jpg

Jude's burger arrived quickly, thank goodness! However - watching him eat it was about as stressful as it was watching him moan about his hunger levels! lol His little hands are so tiny, and the burger was SOOOO large! Again, we survived, and full of smiles he was, once again!

The restaurant is really hidden away and if you didn't know it was there, you wouldn't know it was there. (see what I did there.. hehe)

20170701_123215.jpg

It is a beautifully quaint little place with loads of character. In many ways it reminded me of the movie "The Secret Garden". Scattered with little bits and bobs all over the place, lots of nooks and turns and plenty for little bodies to explore...

20170701_141355.jpg

20170701_141614.jpg

20170701_132742.jpg

20170701_141522.jpg

Look mom, I'm in the tree! Mom... moooommmm.... MOMMMMYYYYYY LOOOOOK!!!!

20170701_141554.jpg

no wait mommy, look again, i'm still in the tree but in a different position now...

I need wine! - bring me wine!!! hahaha!

20170701_123425.jpg

WINE! - Yay!! - and a delicious Pinot Noir at that... ok... mom and dad are happy now!! :)

20170701_133500.jpg

Well, momentarily anyway, because this is my... "I know exactly what is going on behind me" look. lol.. boys will be boys...

20170701_133533.jpg

nope... they are not done yet... lol

20170701_125946.jpg

aaaand...nope... not done - got to do something to entertain ourselves until the food arrives. haha

20170701_125948.jpg

Ok, enough shenanigans boys... the food has arrived and I have one word for it... no points for guessing what that is...

yes, you guessed it... WOW!!! It was absolutely divine!! - Isn't it just wonderful when you go out and everybody is equally impressed with their meals...yes, yes it is! lol

20170701_130801.jpg

I ordered the Grilled Rib Eye Steak which was served with a red wine and thyme butter, a roasted red onion tart tian and roast veg (as you know, I keep my carbs to as little as my general will power will afford. haha) - but wait! - did somebody say RED WINE BUTTER? - now THAT is my kind of steak ;) hehe!

20170701_130746.jpg

Dave ordered the Creamy Butter Chicken Curry, sprinkled with almonds and served with basmati rice and a poppadom

20170701_130742.jpg

and we all know PRECISELY what Jude ate... hahahahahaha!!!! The evidence speaks for itself!

20170701_132855.jpg

Jude and I were too full, so we skipped dessert, but Dave ordered.. oh wait, I didn't take a photo of the dessert menu... (oops - blog fail) - well, it was some delicious looking peppermint thingy... (good save Jayne!) Phew.... lol - Personally, I just fell in love with the angled glass bowl it was served in... that's probably why I forgot to take a pic of the menu...

20170701_135552.jpg

Well, with the dining done and dusted... it was naturally time for little mans ablutions... so here's a random hello from us to you, in the ladies...

20170701_141238.jpg

which was just delightful looking, I must add...

20170701_141108.jpg

All in all, it was a fantastic lunch outing - during my little mans adventures, he brought me some beautiful little blossoms... (too dear!!!) - they are almost as beautiful as he is xxx

20170701_135245.jpg

and when exiting the restaurant, Jude and I decided to do an action shot - which thank goodness, actually turned out half decent, because it ended rather painfully for me with the top of his head smacking me right on the bridge of my nose... OUCH INDEED!!! - oh the things we do for blogging... lol!

20170701_141901_007_01.jpg

Until next time... much love from Cape Town :)

20170701_133310.jpg

20170701_133404.jpg

Read previous posts in this thread:

  1. https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/welcome-to-my-world-hello-sunday
Sort:  

looks like a nice place to eat with family

It absolutely was! It is always great when you find place where both the adults and the kids are happy :) its a "win win" lol

Thanks for sharing your day back when we had 4 young kids we had the same drama over where to have breakfast, what to do for the day etc etc etc so I could really relate to that

Hehehe glad to know i am not alone 😁

What a beautiful family ..I love going to different places and finding all the hidden gems or small hole in the wall places that only locals know...they always have been great experiences...your pictures made me feel like I was there experiencing it myself...awesome.i will be watching for more of your great family and foodie posts :) :) Hi I'm Kayleigh :) :)

Thank you hon!!! Much appreciated :D

You're very welcome :) :)

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64