PARENTS are PEOPLE TOO!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

parents.jpg

“So the other day my father told me about what great sex him and my mother had - eeeeeeuw gross!!!” – I think I must have heard this statement or something similar at least 1000 times in my life!

What is WITH people that react like this to the intimate lives of their parents?! Did they not attend school and learn about the birds and the bees, or did they just develop early alzheimers? How do they think that THEY came to be in the first place?!

Please could somebody explain to me what is SO disgusting, mortifying and humiliating about hearing your parents discuss their intimacy?! To be honest, I would think that in this day and age where divorce is so prevalent and marriage is simply a piece of paper, you would think there would be a level of gratitude that your folks are actually even intimate in the first bloody place!

Quotefancy-2728995-3840x2160.jpg

PARENTS ARE PEOPLE TOO

I have just never understood why people get so “grossed out” by this… and to be quite frank I am thankful that I do not seem to share the same perspective as a seemingly great portion of people.

I prefer, to look at my parents and remember how once upon a time, they didn’t have any children… they were young, free and single – just as we all were (or are). They went through all the same life stages, experimented, experienced and had fun!

Here's an example... a photo of my mom and dad. My dad had just finished a marathon run and apparently they had an argument because my mom hadnt caught his time accurately... or something like that (i forget the details) - point being... oh look! They are human beings... not just "parents"! lol :)

1.jpg

Yesterday my mom shared a photograph with me. It was one of a very dear friend of hers. They were the best of friends in their mid-twenties, lost touch and have recently reunited. She showed me a pic of her friend as “she remembers her” in her younger years, so to speak and then one of her now. She made a passing comment to me about how the older one gets, the more fleeting life becomes.

This was said in response to me moaning and groaning about how utterly exhausted I have been feeling this week.

I absorbed the comment and thought too, about the photos she shared with me, and it made me think of all of them when they were younger. How wonderful it would have been to “meet” my parents when they were in their mid-twenties or early thirties…

See... my mom was also a "littley" once upon a time... she didn't just arrive on earth via UFO as a 20 something, ready to start chopping vegetables...

mom.jpg

and oh look... my dad was in the army, he didn't just get dropped on to earth one day by a parent delivering stork... (I think this was an army photo... and if that was not an army uniform, then he had a really odd sense of dress style.. lol

dad.jpg

For some reason, people seem to forget that their parents are living, breathing, feeling beings too. Just like them. No, they did not suddenly appear the day you were born, to clean your nappies, make your school lunches and give you spending cash. They were toddlers, tweens and teens too.

THEY. ARE. PEOPLE. – Not just parents!

It surprises me that so many young “parents” (my generation) seem to forget this fact. I would have thought that through parenting your own child, whilst being acutely aware that you too still have a character, soul, desires, goals, dreams etc. would remind you that your parents are no different in that respect…

I am a parent, and I am VERY much still alive and kicking with plenty of desires (ok, ok, leave it there folks), dreams, goals and aspirations.

So... the next time we engage with our folks, let's try not to forget all of this, shall we ;)

I mean, look at my mom @lizziesworld - she was so naughty, she even made the newspaper.... hehehehe

mom1.jpg

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

It does seem to escape people that parents are just people and not some universal cutout image lol.

I liked this one!

lol @ "cutout" image. :) Thanks :)

Most welcome Jaynie :)

Hi jaynie! I love your post specially the title "PARENTS are PEOPLE TOO". I'ts so simple but has very deep meaning. I agree with you :)

Thank you for the lovely compliment @tiffanyrej - that means a lot.

Yes sometimes we do forget that they have their bad days and tantrums too. They do once in a while want to behave less motherly or fatherly and be childish again or talk openly about their sex life. Afterall they are only human. So true!

precisely :)

Nice post @jaynie 😊 I love the old photos

Are you part of #teamsouthafrica ?

Thank you for the lovely comment :)

No, not that I am aware of lol :)

Join us in discord! There's a #teamsouthafrica tag too 💓Here's the link

And check out @cheeto.blue's post about #teamsouthafrica here

Great post and it must be a SA thing because I have never heard the term a "littley" before. Makes me giggle.

Didn't know it was but a smile is never a wasted thing :)

You get me thinking.... Tnx

Thinking is good :) Pleasure! :D

Good point. I don't know why it's like that. In our house, the time when I was young and carefree is referred to as the age of the dinosaurs... we have lots of fun!

hahaha... so weird, yet we still feel like we are 18 :)

I got that after having my own kids. All that you said here is so true. I wish I had given my mom, may God rest her soul more credit because she deserved a heck of a lot more than I gave her.

I am sorry to hear that :( but your thoughts of precisely what you have said are energy in themselves and I have no doubt that she knows it all. xxx

People - and especially the children - tend to forget before we were mom sand wives, we were teenagers and women first.....

so very true.... sadly so

Hi Jaynie how old is your mom now? I am trying to find support for the older retired steemians. Please let me know. You can send me a message on steemit chat.

Hi @giantbear I have been having problems with the chat... so thought I would just respond here. She is 68 years old.

What a wonderful initiative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50