Cole's Life After Prison

in #life6 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I'm finishing my series on one of our most successful but least known(in modern times) outlaws. No one thought Cole Younger or his brothers would ever see the outside of a prison but he was paroled after 25 years and even made it back to his birthplace, Lee's Summit, Missouri. This was a freaking miracle and he knew it.

When he got to Lee's Summit and checked into the hotel he didn't know how he would be received but when people found out he was there they started visiting him. Old friends and friends of old friends, family members of old friends, curious people who just wanted to talk to him about his life..the number of people was long and the variety was great.

Cole joins a Wild West show

He was visited by Frank James, Jesse Jame's brother. The two had been good friends since way back before the Civil War when they both rode with Quantrill. Frank had done some time in prison as well. They were approached by a showman who put on Wild West shows and offered them work.

I'm not sure what Frank did but Cole was like a master of ceremony who walked around with his big hat on and talked to the crowd about the show and the performances. I think the show was billed at the Cole Younger show and people came mostly to see him. They made good money but after some years of that Frank retired, mostly for health reasons.

It wasn't long before Cole decide it was time to relax and enjoy himself for what time he had left, so he retired too. He was the main attraction at that hotel he stayed at though. People would come to see him everyday and he would sit there with his long-stemmed German pipe and talk all day.

A new mission in life

He also talked to young people and kids about the dangers of living a life of crime. He began going on speaking tours telling the youth how to live a good life and preaching against getting into trouble. He wanted to "make up" for what he had done.

He would tell about his experiences in war and his time in prison. He would lead up to what he called the "moral" of his story which was that crime doesn't pay. When he would reach this point his voice would tremble and he put a fervor into his talk that would take hold of people.

If he saw a boy in the audience he would direct his message at him. If a kid came up to him after the talk he would give him total attention. Cole would say often.." If I could just make the boys understand."

If he could only make them understand that a life of crime, which looked so exciting, was, in reality, a life of tragedy. He dedicated his remaining years to preaching this message.

Here's a notice about one of his speaking engagements:

0107c37bfe3a51bf05d4b0f448a016bf.jpg
source

The price of admission was 25 cents! lol.

The biggest change of his life came when he was invited to a revival that was going on. The first night he wasn't sure about it. But he went back the next night. Not sure which night it was but one of the nights when the alter call was given he walked down front and gave his heart the the Lord. The entire ccongregation rose to their feet and gave him a long applause.

Afterwards he said " I don't know why I didn't do this long ago. I was with God in my youth, then I deserted Him. Now I am back." His spirit was at peace at last. But his body was fading.

Do you know that he still had 14 bullet slugs in him from all the times he'd been shot? lol. That's amazing, I'm surprised he didn't die from lead poisoning years earlier.

He finally got sick and was bed ridden for a couple weeks before he passed on at the age of 72. He was the last of the great outlaws and had killed 16 men but that's not counting those who might had died in the war during battles that he was in. As errant as he was for a good portion of his life, he spent all his effort the last ten years of it trying to help others.
QmP4XWrKhEyctSdKwPXzgJStaaib5GRAczyRhSaSaSMjQp.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas

steemitbloggers.gif

The next post we're going to see what happened to Belle Starr because I think she goes off the rails and starts stealing cattle or something!

QmV1rirc4aVwh5NVurSGyHWRg81cAiro8rA2TaeWCPVLtV.png

QmTYUoxpK2LHgoiePLMao9UEPVBChXDMcvH2YgojQYTAfq.png

Sort:  

Wow, I love that he used the last 10 years of his life in such a positive way. I'm sure he changed some people's lives!

howdy violetmed! Yes Ma'am I'm sure God used him in that way, I agree and it was inspirational to see how dedicated he was to making a positive impact. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

As we all get older and realize life will not go on for ever and that sense of invinsible feeling that accompanies youth starts to disappear as we approach the DAY OF RECKONING.

Totally enjoyed, my question is where do you go from here, hopefully with more content similar to the content involving the Younger brothers.

Hope for a surprise!

howdy sir thebigsweed! I'm so glad you liked the series. I sure did, Cole was one of the few big time outlaws who lived to old age!
But my numbers tanked last week, few comments and the least amount I've made on posts for months so most people didn't take an interest in it so I'm not sure what to do because I like the stories about the Old West.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

So he end up being a "celebrity"?

yes he did. why .. you jealous?

I'm surprised because he didn't have his mustache. If he'd had his mustache he'd been even more popular.

Hi there, all I can say janton is,Cole Younger was a most amazing man standing up and admitting that crime does not pay and then openly reaching out to God.

But I really thought that Cole and Belle may have met up again so Cole could meet his daughter again. I am obviously delusional, lol.

Well after 25 years in prison too many things had changed but I'll touch on that when I talk about Belle. I was hoping too actually.

Ah, he redeemed himself. Great story.

yes sir Vincent, I was not sure that he should have gotten out but then when I saw what he did I was glad he got out, I'm sure he influenced alot of young people. I think it could be made into a powerful movie if they told his whole story. Would you be available to play Cole?

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Truly, this should be a movie!!! I have tears in my eyes.

Miss Lena...yes if done right it could be a very powerful movie with a positive message at the end, for as much violence as he saw he became a crusader against violence. I'm so glad that you liked it!

I really enjoyed reading it, it was very different from what I used to, yet very captivating. If done well, it could be nominated for Oscar.

Howdy today Miss Lena! I did see a movie years ago that had the Northfield robbery in it but I don't remember much about it, they may have ended it at that point which wouldn't have taught any lessons.

Oh really? I would be interested to know which movie was that, but clearly, it was not the type of movie we have in mind.

Yes Ma'am the movie I saw definitely didn't have any good moral lessons in it or spiritual message but I guess the message could be not to rob banks so at least that's something.

This has been a fantastic series, @Janton.

thank you so much Melinda. I've had the worst number of comments and earnings the last week that I've had for months so I guess the series wasn't as popular as some of the others but I thought it was very interesting and I'm so glad you liked it!

You know what? I forgot to mention that the entire time they were in prison Cole and Jim..well and Bob too but he died.....none of them ever gave up who the other two riders were, Jesse and Frank James.
Cole would never betray his friend Frank no matter what they offered him over the course of 25 years!

Your series was marvelous and if your numbers are down chalk it up to circumstances. With the EL League off last week and hundreds of people in Krakow, its simply been a quiet week for all of us. I believe my house guest is leaving on Wednesday and I'm going to need your help if I have any hope of making it into the top 50 this week! Time to get back to work!

into the top 50! haha, that can't be too hard to do can it?
Oh so your numbers are down too?

I've been lucky to make 20 comments a day. I'm going to have to work my butt off.
Let's see if things pick up soon!

howdy Melinda..well by the time your company leaves you should be so far behind that it will be easy to put out a ton of comments right?

That sounds like a positive way of looking at things! I will need some encouragement, for sure.

I'm glad he lived a good innings. I just think it is mad that the Wild West show was so close in time to when the actually wild west occurred.

yes sir blanchy it was crazy, they came right off the Plains into the shows! lol. Even lots of Indians which always surprised me. And I know they traveled to Europe, I wonder if they made it to Ireland?

14 bullets, back when modern medicine was a bottle of whiskey and a bone saw. That’s a tough sumbitch.

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha! yes sir he was amazing! thanks madgoat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80