You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giving up on Steemit is not an option. BE RELENTLESS.

in #life8 years ago

The problem with the current architecture/design, is that people want to get upvotes rather than engaging in a real conversation. They want people to read their post rather than taking the time to read other's people content. I hope they will succeed in building a place for discussion insofar as this is their first goal: Create and reward conversations

Sort:  

I agree with you 110%. This was my problem also, and I'd be fooling myself if I said I wasn't looking for upvotes on all of my posts but I am learning and see the greater good now with the platform as a whole.

You can get spoiled on here as well. It is like going from dial-up internet, to a fast connection, and then back to dial-up. We always want more. I wanted to introduce myself. I'm Brian Phobos and I'm in Craig Grants Steem Power Mining Pool.

Also it doesn't help that Whales keep upvoting "suck-up" posts that basically proclaim how wonderful everything is. It tends to result in a tonne of similar copycat posts trying to get whale patronage. The main trending page is just a mess. Luckily now we have mini communities forming like the #craigrant tag to make it easier to find posts.

It might help to have a minimum requirement of up-votes in order to post. Might help balance between curation and posting. Also the latest HF has put some restriction on posting frequency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55