Busy day. Boring post.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today has been a day of constructing flat-pack furniture and rearranging my personal library along with a hefty dose of clutter sorting. Unfortunately, it isn't even close to finished. As such, there are no new sections of Lysander Spooner's letter, no new Magic card packs, no musings on politics, and not even a beer review.

My new bookshelves were this set made by Sauder and sold by Office Depot. I put them together a while back, but had to complete a sequence of furniture rearranging to put them where they were intended to live. I will say that the assembly went smoothly, and the instructions were clear. I have one piece that was damaged on arrival out of three sets, so I may contact them even though it is only cosmetic. At any rate, this should mean I can get more of my books out of storage! I may be making headway against the bibliophile curse of tomes exceeding shelf space!

The piece I actually built today was a media tower with a CD rack and adjustable shelving. I don't know off hand how old it is, but I bought it at a garage sale for a song, still in its original box, and its cover depicts only CDs and VHS tapes. Unlike the bookshelves, which used an odd cam screw system to connect the components, this was the old-fashioned dowels and holes assembly that required glue. It went together fine, though. And oddly enough, shelves intended to hold obsolete VHS tapes hold modern DVDs, Blu-Rays, and game discs just fine!

I also had to fix one of my old bookshelves. One of the little plastic feet that hold the chipboard body a fraction of an inch above the floor is gone, and has been gone for an unknown length of time, so I sanded a scrap piece of wood to size and glued that to the vacant corner. I also replaced the crappy little metal tabs that held the adjustable shelves with inch-long pieces of dowel that actually fit the holes in the sides where the metal tabs were always falling out.

Oh, and I replaced a dead electrical outlet. Don't worry, I know better than to try that without first flipping the breaker.

So now I return to the task of sorting, tossing trash, and piling up a garage sale pile of stuff someone else might want to use. Wish me luck...

Sort:  

Thankfully, it's been a while since we've moved or that I've had to assemble something. On the flip side, I'm not looking forward to the task when we do eventually move.

I've found the Sauder furniture to be some of the best I've had to construct, and I've actually liked the cam screws, when the holes are big enough for them to fit in.

Good luck with the to-do list. :)

I had little trouble getting anything to fit. One of the cam screw holes had some sawdust that I needed to remove, and that was it. I had built one other shelf from that company before, and I remember having much more of a headache doing so. I think they have improved their manufacturing process on that front over the past several years.

This post is actually amazing! The fact that you could write a long post like this with details about putting furniture together speaks volumes about your writing skills! No beer review this week?

There may be one yet to come. Time will tell.

Progress is wonderful! You did a great job with the bookshelf assembly. Good luck with the continued sorting, which is always a pain in the patoot.

There is joy in doing any work yourself. Whether it is or big. It does not matter. You've done a lot!

There is also back pain.

Hey I appreciate the content you post. I only recently started attempting to write an article daily on my procrastination thoughts, and thought the content was similar to yours. Any tips for a beginner like me? Check out my recent stuff

As the self-appointed Steem Pope, I am the perfect person to ask for advice!

You've made a good start in substantive comments, but avoid asking people to check your profile or read your posts, much less ask for follows/upvotes. Work on building relationships through conversations, and let people decide whether to check your profile on their own.

I advise against upvoting your own comments, too. I don't object to upvoting your own posts, but it just looks tacky to add an upvote for yourself on your comments. Admittedly, there are people who disagree, but it looks as vain as when people upvote their own Facebook comments.

If you compliment a post but do not upvote it, it really looks like you're just trying to get upvotes for yourself. It looks sleazy. If you like a post, upvote it. If you compliment it in the comments, definitely upvote it. Don't worry about the value of your vote. What matters is that you support people who you think add value to the system.

Keep on trying to find your niche in the Steemit ecosystem. Write daily. Practice, practice, practice.

Thanks for the reply I really appreciate the good honest feedback!! I'll continue you to follow your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64646.41
ETH 3230.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63