A song for fair week

in #life6 years ago (edited)

@generikat mentioned her trepidation regarding the insanity of Fair Week as a 4-H parent, and then speculated about the number of miles she expected to walk as she herded kids and managed her responsibilities there. My twisted mind began immediately to compose a parody of I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles) by The Proclaimers in response.

4-H (500 Miles)

When I wake up, yeah, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the mom who wakes up next to you.
When I go out, yeah, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the mom who's at the Fair with you.

When I'm working, yeah, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be in the 4-H food booth for you.
And when I finish, yeah, you know you're gonna see,
You're gonna see the 4-H funds we raised for you

But I would walk 500 miles
And I would walk 500 more
Just to be the mom who walked 1000 miles
To collapse after Fair

If I get hungry, yes, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the mom who gets hungry at the Fair.
And if I buy food, yeah, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the mom who's buying food for me.

When I'm eating, yes, I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the mom who's eating here for you.
Elephant ears, corn dogs, dippin' dots and worse,
I'll get junk-food indigestion just for you.

But I would walk 500 miles
And I would walk 500 more
Just to be the mom who walked 1000 miles
To collapse after Fair

When I come home yeah I know I'm gonna be
I'm gonna be the mom who comes back home with you
And if I grow old well I know I'm gonna be
I'm gonna be the mom who's aging early thanks to you.

But I would walk 500 miles
And I would walk 500 more
Just to be the mom who walked 1000 miles
To collapse after Fair

Sort:  

Great parody!

You should record this and post it on dLive or some such... :D

Please reply to this comment so I can reward it...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ha, no. @generikat has my mike, and the only recording of any song that I ever have sung or ever intend to sing is our library-specific parody of I Am the Very Model of a Modern Major-General. And that was only for a library board report to help send off our previous manager when she retired.

This has to be SOOOO accurate!! Love your alternative lyrics.

The GREATEST SONG that I've ever listened!! It's just stuck in my head!! Thanks to Ted and Marshall and also Marshall's Fiero ;)

This song is fantastic!

This is the most Scottish song to ever come from Scotland. lol. This is the Scottish anthem. I don't care. You know what I'm saying is true. LOL

The most comical thing about this, is that they're bloody Scots, and that's the best thing about them. Something like, ten times to that effect. I love me Scots, and anyone to the contrary, bring it on, if you dare! Not really, we Scots are nice, and we love people, from all over the world. Be kind to Scots, and you will have a home, anywhere in the world. They're good people like that. Why? Because they're the best, and they mean to prove it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84