One of the best moment of my Life: Wonderful Smiles from Tingub Elementary School

in #life6 years ago


I may have not lived my life as best as I should but I'm always grateful each time I'm blessed with the opportunity to share a piece of my heart to others. Seeing this innocent smiles in return is indeed very rewarding. Priceless.

This blog is inspired by one of our fellow Steemit friend @macoolette after reading her post sharing her wonderful moment as a volunteer.

The story behind that single picture: A kid's love for selfie

I also had my moments as a volunteer and I'm happy to share it here with you all. =)

It was a lovely early morning when me and my team mates arrived at Tingub Elementary School, one of the school located in a rural area here in Cebu. 


The moment we entered the gate, we noticed there were already some kids waiting outside and one with her teacher approached us and gave us a warm welcome. It was recess time so more kids went out from their classrooms to see what's going on. Some kids are waving at us saying "Good morning po Ate!". It's really heart warming to see the kids smiling around, we feel like celebrities in their eyes. 😅

Each of us was then assigned to some classrooms to bond with the kids for an hour and to give them new books and school supplies. 

I was lucky to be assigned in this classroom: Grade 2 Section Love ❤

Meet my super cute and bright pupils. I really had fun story telling with these kids.  After reading them stories, we had a short game or like a quiz. They seem to enjoy it too. 

Future Policeman, Doctor and Teacher 😊 (They told me when I asked what they want to be like when they grow up and finish school)

These kids really made me feel like a real teacher. One of the best moment of my life really. It's very touching when a couple of the parents told me I can be a good teacher and the kids seem to like me.

After the classroom activity, the teachers gathered the kids outside to join the short program we prepared for them and  had more fun games.

There's also one child that got my attention. Her name is Sarah. We had to help her out from her classroom and she sat next to us up in the stage. 

She's very shy at first. Seeing her sweet smile was indeed priceless.

Later, she showed me her notebooks. I can see she's very clever. I was really impressed that she got really good grades. I could remember, I rarely get a perfect score in my primary school days. 😝


At end of the program, we all gave them free snacks. I love snack time lol 😅

I really missed this volunteering moments really. Since my work schedule has changed, I rarely have time to join. Wish I could join again next time. 

I hope you all enjoyed this blog. Have a great week everyone!

With much love from Cebu,

@island-girl

Thank you! Daghan Salamat! Maraming Salamat po!


Sort:  

Giving back, children are so special, they will be the next generation, and we must help train and prepare them!

Thank you for sharing this experience here on the blockchain, I found you on @c-squared blog :)

Thank you for dropping by @ecoinstant. I do agree with your comment, children are indeed very special, proper training and education will help them a lot in the future. I can imagine all these kids will grow up as good citizens, will really make a big difference. I'm also grateful to @c-squared that people like you with same interest found my blog here. It's always my pleasure sharing what I have. Have a great day!

It has been a great day of finding wonderful content like this to appreciate!

Each child is important, I thank you for those that you have affected in a positive direction!

looking at children's smile is happiness, especially if we do something voluntarily. Thanks for this inspiring story

Thank you and I'm glad that you're inspired reading my blog. I really appreciate your comment =) Enjoy your day!

Thank you . Sweet smiles are indeed the loveliest view =)

Kids are sweet! And i have found some of my happiest moments tending to them. The knowledge that my word, or deed, is what inspires and propels that little boy or girl to live a good, and rewarding, purpose filled life is unmatched, if you ask me.

You know back in my country, Education is a privilege! And many a child, if lucky to enroll, sooner drops out, especially the girl children. I have many times found myself, whenever i have the opportunity, speaking to them, giving word or two of encouragement, for them to continue in education, and of course in many aspects of life.

I am glad you know of how priceless their smiles are, and more than that, their final life success due to the impression you make on them, even long after you have left. like you, i have some history of volunteering, and despite lack of pay, i know the satisfaction that comes with it, especially if you are dealing with children - their smiles and sparkling joy in their eyes is priceless.

So I am going feature it in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #40. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.

Best wishes, @mirrors

Thank you so much @mirrors for your support and I really appreciate it. It's always a joy for me each time I touch someone's heart with what I share here. It really means a lot to me.
I remember reading one of your blogs before about the life of volunteer teachers and struggles of some children in your country that gets in the way in pursuing their studies. Sometimes a child gives up in schooling due to lack of support, poverty resulting to insufficient educational resources and sometimes cultural and family influence too. In your blog, you stated that volunteer teacher do their classes just under the tree and students don't even have any chairs to sit down. Some are bound to finish their home chores first before they can head off to school. Some would go to school without a having a proper meal. During exams, most students fail due to lack of knowledge and end up getting married at a young age, especially the females. Some children grew up focusing on life survival than education. It's heartbreaking reality. I hope things will become better in the future, that many kids will be given the opportunity to finish their education.

Well, said! Truth is, much of your experience here resonates with several of my own, just know i understand how the heart jumps when that pumpkin smiles at you! Thanks for your good work. It may not seem much, but the impact is massive, and changes the future and fortunes of such children.

Wow! Thank you for the shout out.

Empowering the children is like banking for our future. As the saying goes, they are the hope of our nation's future. This is one of the reasons why I am advocating time for them.

I am so glad that my post has inspired you. May our posts do the same to others and spread the love.

You're always welcome =) Yes true and I remember that's a famous quote of Dr. Jose Rizal, that children are the nation's hope for the future. I'm also hoping the same that many more others will be inspired by what we share here on Steemit. Keep sharing love and inspiration. =)

Cheers to that! 😊

Have you considered teaching English in China? They are hiring 300,000 Filipino as teachers across this country. It's good pay, great hours and if you like teaching the work is rather easy or at least enjoyable most of the time.

https://www.philstar.com/headlines/2018/04/09/1804332/philippines-china-sign-agreement-hiring-filipino-english-teachers

https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/business/article/2145796/why-china-suddenly-seeking-filipino-english-teachers

https://gulfnews.com/news/asia/philippines/china-to-hire-300-000-filipinos-including-100-000-english-teachers-1.2203123

Check it out. I know another Filipina here and she married a local Chinese man a few years ago. You're English is great and you've got the right personality. ^^ Let me know I can help you get the job.

If given the chance, why not? Teaching for me, could be the kind of job that I might not feel like working at all, especially with the kids as I'm used to be around with children. I've already read those articles about China's massive hiring of Filipino teachers to teach English. In fact, I've been thinking about it in a while, before you shared it to me. I will tell you more about it later. Thanks for the support as always. =)

Thanks for the post, island-girl.

This bot runs through hundreds of posts per day selecting a small percentage of posts that have exceptional positivity.

Your post has been selected and upvoted because it has a high concentration of positive words that give feel-good vibes. Thank you for creating content that focuses on the bright side.

Your post has also been entered to be included in a daily roundup of positive posts.Please comment 'yes' or 'no' if you feel that my bot is correct in its judgement of this post. Your comments will be used to determine if this article belongs in the curated list. Over time, your feedback will be used to improve the judgement of this bot

It's a big 'YES'. Thank you so much for the support. It's always my pleasure to share some good vibes =)

You got a 19.77% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @solarguy!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much for the support =)

Such an AESTETIC shot

Thank you. Glad you liked the photos =) My pleasure sharing them here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60608.46
ETH 2637.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62