Climbing Out From The Swirling Vortex Of Despair

in #life6 years ago

Climbing Out From The Swirling Vortex Of Despair

color forest 2.jpg

So, I was on the verge of one of my patented massive panic attacks the other day.

I was just minding my own business going about my day when I was struck by a familiar, overwhelming feeling of being alone.
I don't mean a microcosmic feeling of loneliness or feeling like I don't have anyone in my life.
It's more of an existential macrocosmic dread of feeling absolutely alone in the universe.

Isolated, stranded, disconnected....trapped?

It's not the first time I've felt that way.
It usually happens during restless nights of insomnia when I'm still up at 4 AM and everything is so disturbingly quiet.

Sometimes it even happens when I'm surrounded by loved ones.
I call it the "alone in a crowd feeling."

Of course, it's irrational.
It makes absolutely no sense.
But the feeling is so intense when it happens that it crushes all logic.

Maybe it's a moment of truly feeling that we are all connected as one in the universe.
And, as they say......

One is the loneliest number.

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

So it happened again the other day......

The darkness envelops me in its smothering embrace and I'm sinking in quicksand.
Stuck in an infinite loop of an obsessive thought that becomes my reality.
When it happens, I can't remember ever feeling another way.
The swirling vortex of fear begins and I can feel it pulling me downward.
The panic attack is winding up and ready to explode.

I glanced at my phone and saw a DM from @clayboyn.
I told him what was happening and what he said slapped the fear right out of me.

"It's just a feeling, and it doesn't have to mean anything you don't want it to mean."

Throughout my Cognitive Behavioral Journey,​ I've learned that I have a couple of automatic Thought Traps that lead to massive anxiety and/or panic attacks.

They are so ingrained within​ me that I often forget they exist.
They happen as easily as breathing, and trying to challenge them can be as uncomfortable as trying not to breathe.

My mind's 2 favorite thought traps are All or Nothing Thinking and Magnification or Catastrophising.

So, a thought that leads me to feel alone in the world defies all logic and becomes a permanent​ catastrophic reality from which there is no escape.

@clayboyn's statement brought me back to the true reality which is that I don't have to be a victim of my thoughts and feelings.

They don't control me.
They are not me.

Dark/negative feelings exist in contrast to feelings of positivity and light.

Darkness is not permanent just as joy is not permanent.
Both just simply exist.

This is how I challenged my negative Thought Traps, kicked them in their stupid face, and climbed out of the swirling vortex of despair that I had created.

Sort:  

Big hugs to you, lady...

heart-2243643_640.png

Oh, can I ever relate. Yes, recognizing the thought pattern, naming it, and jumping to a different mind-track (so to speak) is so helpful. Excellent share! You are SO not alone. But you know that already. ;)

Thank you, it's always nice to hear that I'm not alone.
<3

The universe provides and it all balances out in the end. I'm glad you climbed out of the despair. :)

A daily dose of clay is good for anxiety :)

Thanks for sharing this. The more we talk about mental health problems the less dramatic they become.

Very true, thank you.
<3

I hear you!

For me it's more like being crushed by all the mass of the people. All the energy, all the emotions, overwhelming me and crushing my fragile and undedeveloped boundaries.

Healthy boundaries are so important. I know it's difficult to create them when you are an Empath.
<3

For sure! But once we have them, we can actually enjoy ourselves without draining our energy.

Glad you found a way out ma'am.
These feelings are what they are ...

FEELINGS

kicked them in their stupid face, and climbed out of the swirling vortex of despair that I had created.

That was all I needed to read.
Thank you for sharing

Thank you klynic!
<3

Negative thought traps are freaking awful...I have been trapped in a seemingly endless cycle of a few particularly vicious ones for a few months now and know what they feel like. The bluntness of that statement really does make a lot of sense though! Thank you for sharing it...gonna write it down and read over it...let it really sink in. Reading about your journey always inspires me to do better in my own life. Sending my love! <3

I know....everyday is a struggle for me to break out of those negative thought traps.
I'm glad that I can help to inspire you...believe me...I know how difficult it is.
Sending you love, light, and positivity <3

It is good that you can see them for what they are and recognize their illusory nature. Talking oneself out of fear is always helpful as panic is rarely merited. I think we are all more or less victims of our own thought patterns.

So true.
<3

I love this, thank you for sharing! Also on a journey of not having to be ruled by every single one of my thoughts, and to listen more closely to my heart. So much practice required. <3

Oh I know...it doesn't come easy for me that's for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77