All We Have is Now

in #life6 years ago (edited)

All We Have is Now


Untitled design (18).jpg

I've been avoiding writing lately.
I have all these thoughts running around in my head and I'm not sure how to get them out in a way that is clear.
They are spinning around so fast and I'm trying to grab onto one, but each one keeps slipping out of my reach.
Or maybe I'm not grasping tightly enough because I'm afraid of what I might find.

Well, anyway, I had a thought that kinda flew out of my head the other day then spun around and it hit me like a ton of bricks.
Then the light bulb of realization showered me with light.
It was something I logically already knew, but perhaps I just realized it emotionally.
Sometimes you can intellectually know something, but it is a type of detached knowledge that isn't ingrained within you.

When I teach piano, I often have to have my students count out loud for a couple months until they internalize the division of rhythm within the beat.
Intellectually they can understand the rhythm, but they aren't feeling it when they are playing.
Once they finally internalize it then they no longer have to count out loud.

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

Anyway, back to the realization.
I always hear people talking about being in the moment, and I'm always like...
"Yeah, I know, appreciate the present and enjoy it and all that crap....but what about all the important things I have to worry about??"

What I finally internalized the other day is that our lives are just a continuation of Nows.

There is no past. It already happened and it's already gone.

There is no future. The future is not guaranteed and it doesn't exist yet.

All we have is now.

If I'm not enjoying and appreciating my life from moment to moment in the Now, then what is the point of living?

I've spoken before with my favorite philosophical muse, @clayboyn, about some psychological ideas behind depression and anxiety.

Continually dwelling on aspects of the past that create feelings of guilt and unhappiness can cause prolonged depression.

Continually focusing on the future with worry and concern can cause prolonged anxiety.

When I look back on my life I realize that I have not been enjoying the Now because I've been too busy living in the future.

This changes

Now

Sort:  

Also over-thinking can cause depression, we are over analyzing things that doesn't happen, and we became the enemy of ourselves and self sabotaging our present moment instead enjoying now, we dwell inside our brain and wasting time on stuff that actually we don't care.

"We suffer more often in imagination than in reality"- Seneca

it was hard for me to avoid thinking our past and future, what i did first was doing something that keep me busy, until we forgot things, sometimes it occurs frequently, that we cannot avoid, all i did is just let it flow and move forward and enjoy the present moment. :)

I am terrible about over analyzing, especially myself. It is very hard to suppress, I think it stems from being on my own since 14, having to foresee whats around the corner, although I think I did it as a kid too....OMG I'm doing it now!

Future is a ghostly echo just like the past. We spend the now afraid not to reach, not to fulfill to succeed. Pulls, pressures, it can warp our actions too. Just to reach, and then reach... I will not deny my now is kid of frustrating. But NOW and having read this, I take a deep breath, and smile.

Absolutely, my friend. Once you internalize that, life gets better.. this is what helped my anxiety but it never helps if you are TOLD - you have to EXPERIENCE it! Xx awesome realisation for you... hold tight to it, its a slippery bugger!!!💙💙💙

Sometimes you can intellectually know something, but it is a type of detached knowledge that isn't ingrained within you.

Indeed, We may know and understand many concepts, but they still feel like aliens to us that they can easily escape our hearts while we believe they are there.

Past and future are merely concepts resides in our minds, they have no tangible reality. It is our though process that gives rise to them as if they were real. The only thing you can do about both is thinking. And they are there as long as your mind is wandering from the now. Thanks for sharing your experience. :)

Thank you for sending us music curation rewards. Cheers!

We must live our present fully, and focus on the future. the past only serves to learn and correct our mistakes, but we can not take the time back, just live and continue living..

:) awesome

leave no thought unsaid...

Nice post. And I really like the picture. Is it your art?

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Sometimes you can intellectually know something, but it is a type of detached knowlege that isn't ingrained within you.
It should be knowledge instead of knowlege.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29