Giving up drinking changed my life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemers <3

I have promised to post about my healthy lifestyle and today I want to write about my life without alcohol. I stopped drinking three years ago and I will say that it changed my life. Now I see life in another perspective (a better way), my happiness, economy and health is a lot better now. I have nothing against anyone drinking and I respect other people’s opinions.

Why I stopped:
I have always thought about giving up drinking and it has been a long consideration before I stopped. I was thinking about the consequences and my social life. The main reason for giving up alcohol is that I want a healthy lifestyle with sport and healthy food.

How it affects me:

  • PERSONAL: It have been difficult to stop because I lost some of my friend and got lonely sometimes. After a while I became more open minded and got more confidence in myself. I has always been a shy person and I was always sitting in the back of the class. Now I trust myself more and can contact other students.

  • EDUCATIONALLY: I am studying law in Denmark. Even though Greenlandic is a part of Denmark it is not my first language. It hasn’t been easy to speak fluent in Danish and do presentation when you are shy. Now I can see the positive difference between my grades before and after I changed my lifestyle.

  • HOW I SEE LIFE: I have become a more grateful about the things I have and more thankful for my life. My motto is: “Train your mind to see the good in every situation”

  • ECONOMY: You might know that you use plenty of money when you are going out with friends. You will buy some drinks, food and of course food the day after for hangovers. It is very expensive just to repeat the same old pattern. You can enjoy the parties without drinking.

There are so many things you can achieve in life and I hope that my post has inspired


Thank you for reading my post <3

Sort:  

And you’ll look younger. Quit just before I started posting on Steemit. So much happier sober; more energy, less shame, more game. Cheers deers!

Exactly :)

Great work...
If we drink then it should be in a limit.
If after consuming alcohol we forget about the limit then we should try to quit it...know quiting alcohol is very tough.
So congrats to you as you able to perform this tough task..:)

You are right. I like your comment

Very inspirational! Congrats:)

Thanks to all of you for your support :D

Hi @inuk
Thank you for sharing your alcohol-free life experience.

Congratulations @inuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post @inuk :D

It's the most dangerous drug. Why would one ever sedate one's senses? Pretty miserable. Good to hear you've stopped!

Thank you ;)

Congrats! That's a great post to read!! Maybe I should consider..hmmmm....

Yeah, you will not regret it :D

I am glad to see that such a beautiful young lady has been able to put her life in perspective and make good life decisions. Many, many young people don't make the change until they are much older, and sometimes it is just too late. I congratulate you on the success. Just remember though, that the "friends" you lost were never really friends. If they had been they would be standing beside you today. Never feel sorry for losing them, because, in reality, they lost themselves first.

Thank you so much for your kind comment! @trovandeventer
Yes! I am very happy that I make this decision, and you´re right about those "friends" I had. There are luckily some great friends, who supported me ;)

Congrats to your decision!

PERSONAL: It have been difficult to stop because I lost some of my friend and got lonely sometimes.

Real friends would never end friendship because of a reason like that. Instead they should support you (and actually be proud at you)...

Thank you for your sweet comment! 😊 I have also thought about it, luckily I had other supporting friends 🙏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64159.10
ETH 2771.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66