Mercury Retrograde Survival (A DIY Guide for Skeptics & "Dummies")

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Ever wonder why things go weird during Mercury retrograde?

I recall hearing about it when I moved to Boulder, CO, around the holidays of 2004.

Frankly, I was skeptical.

I didn't inquire much further, 'til my own life situation became so frustrating that I was open to learning more.

I made alarming discoveries regarding planetary transits and my life path which catalyzed my study of astrology.

(And I shared a little bit about my NDE (near death experience) in @aggroed's Mayor Minnow Town Hall, on Sunday.)

We just entered the final Mercury retrograde cycle of 2017, on December 3rd, which lasts through December 22nd...

(And there was a gorgeous Gemini Supermoon happening at the same time)

IMAGE SOURCE: "How Will Mercury Retrograde Affect Geminis? Strange Times Are Ahead — For All Signs"


What is Mercury retrograde? - AND - Is it real?

Real is difficult to quantify.

In space, "retrograde" means nothing.

On Earth, the retrograde is merely a matter of visual perspective; however, many have observed certain anomalies otherwise unaccounted for which (may) predominantly arise during the 3-4 times per year that "the messenger planet cycles "retrograde."

One day on Mercury is 59 Earth days long and it's the smallest planet in our solar system. It is also the second hottest planet and it is mostly composed of a molten metallic core.

IMAGE SOURCE


Dopplegangers of Roman and Greek Mythology

In Roman traditions, Mercury is depicted as snake-entwined caduceus-carrying, "winged messenger," son of Jupiter.

In Greek traditions, he is Zeus and Maia's Olympian son, and one of the seven Pleiades.

Commerce, trade, theft, and travel are all themes associated with this swiftly moving individual. He is a heyoka, often highlighted for his cutting wit, and trickster tactics.


Murphy's Law was made for Mercury retrograde!

Astrology enthusiasts and cynics tend to equate Mercury retrogrades with Murphy's Law

If something can go wrong, it will!

The tendency is for situations to unexpectedly reverse (similarly to how Mercury appears to swivel backward).

Some facts point to Mercury's magnetic field slowing solar winds and inducing a magnetosphere. It is suggested that this could create stressful effects upon electrical conductors and receivers.

Technology could become wonky. So could travel, commerce / trade, all forms of communication...

Basically, everything associated with Mercury is potentially up for extra weirdness.


Boomerang effects

Karmic retribution and "paybacks" of all kinds can pop up in the vein of reap what you've sown.

For those, who've prepared in advance, paybacks could be advantageous.

"Lost" things are found and "do-overs" could suddenly present themselves.

Revelations and insights (may) occur over this time period. People have reported discoveries that have taken extended periods of time to make.


Cautionary Notes:

Hippocrates is often credited to have stated,

“He who does not understand astrology is not a doctor, but a fool.”

Medical astrology suggests that elective medical procedures are best to defer to times that are outside of the post and pre-shadow periods of Mercury retrograde.

Practicing astrologers often recommend focusing energies upon meditative practices, rather than initiations during these cycles.

Keywords:

  • reflection
  • renewal
  • relaxation
  • revision
  • reconsideration
  • re-confirm
  • re-do
  • redundant

Let's face it...

Since life is full of less than ideal circumstances, understanding Mercury's quirks may offer a vital lens of clarity to help us navigate.

Misunderstandings are synonymous with "Mercury retrograde," so it could be helpful to reserve these cycles for considering plans that will be deployed at a later date.

When communicating, traveling, making purchases (especially larger or technology related), use special care, read (and re-read) all fine print, go for warranties. Also, try to make sure you're rested enough before dealing with people or stressful situations, if at all possible.


GIF SOURCE

Do you have a Mercury retrograde story to share?

If so, I'd love to hear about it!

One way or the other, I hope that this Mercury Retrograde Survival Guide was helpful to you! Share it with someone who could use the insight and cheers!

(If you're planning to be in the Denver area later this month, you're invited to join us for our Mercury Retrograde Steemit Holiday Accelerator & Meetup!

💘 ,
IntuitiveJakob






Sort:  

I hope this is not too private, but i wanted to ask how this plays together with your Christianity? I completely understand it if you don't feel comfortable answering :)

Hey @emilclaudell, I am sharing openly about my life. Although I am someone who has always been one to model after what Jesus the Christ was taught to be, I do not in any way at all associate myself with the dogma of "Christianity."

The Jesus accounts all show that the person this Christianity is all about is absolutely nothing at all like the "Christians" who've been a part of my personal upbringing. In fact, some of them have been the least Christlike, by example of deed. (Not to mention, some of the least willing to make remedy or speak apologetically and with care towards others.)

So, with that stated, I will also go on to state that it is my personal feeling (based on my many years of theological and historical research) that Jesus was a mage who was trained in the mystery schools of hermetic tradition...as am I.

Great to hear your story in mspwaves! I'm new to this theory, it's definitely interesting. Awesome story!

Dear @wandrnrose7, thank you so much for taking the time with this community, my friend! I loved hearing you speak on mspwaves, as well, and it means a lot to me that you have been open to hearing about this concept!

Looking forward to connecting more with you and please feel free to reach out if I am able to assist you in some way! 💘

Love This Rev....Thanks for sharing

Hey @fussydoflamenco!! So happy you came over here from the land of exile. It's on!!

Let me know once you make your introduction post!! I will help you format it up (if you want) and we will let @Aggroed know!

💘

Mercury always retrograde LOL

Oh yeah! At least 3-4 times a year! And when you're marking it on your calendar and planning (what you can) around it, it becomes very interesting how none of the B.S. can actually stick to you.

Seed your miracles and call them forward. You're a Jedi, @esaia.mystic!

oh man, I hope this one is more gentler than the last!

it had started just after I arrived in Paris for a month-long Euro trip. phone crapped out, could barely log onto the internet without it crashing, completely destroyed plans of giving Steemit updates. without such internet access, things sure weren't flowing all so smoothly.

may this one be more manageable...

10fo, @rok-sivante!

I have had a bit of a fascinating time here, thus far, myself. Fortunately, preparation has lent me a certain amount of grace that otherwise would've made what's yet occurred far too much stress. Instead, it's turned into a massive return of some karma (that's being cleared in my favor).

I loved your most recent post, Early Xmas With Inflated SBD Price, And Two Key Principles Of Purposeful Writing On Steemit.... I feel like, within the exploration you shared some valuable insight about how dealing with a Mercury retrograde may appear in someone's life.

It's helpful for us to learn to look at what's happening in the cycles around us when we're seeking more clarity about how to bring balance to life. The way you articulated how you are revisiting different important life aspects as a retrospective, before initiating new processes and implementing changes, may be helpful for others to see as a model.

I'll be re-working my own flow-process, myself!

Nice!! Thank you for this post on Mercury Retrograde. I actually never quite understood this phenomenon fully, but you have helped me gain a better understanding of it through your very informative post. With the section on Mercury the deity I suddenly felt some sort of affinity to him, lol. Idk why.

Hey @rodeo670! Thanks for checking out my post! I'm happy to hear that it was helpful for your understanding of these cycles.

I hope it works out well for you to understand things as they're happening. I notice that the more I anticipate what cycles may bring, the better my life plans are going.

That's interesting about your connection with Mercury. I can totally see that about you. It's the wit and the Air in your chart.

Thanks for the tips @intuitivejakob!

Glad you checked it out, @rebele93!

Let's make some Mercury retrograde music!

Excellent guide! Happy spinning. :D

Hey @traciyork, thanks for checking out the guide! Hope it was helpful!

Very much so, @intuitivejakob! Bright blessings to you!

I really appreciate knowing that, my dear. Thanks for saying so! Wishing you the best, always.

Thanks for this @intuitivejakob!
I do tend to find things during Mercury Retrogrades. Maybe I'll find a lost love...

Hey @tarotbyfergus! Thanks for checking out the guide. I totally agree with you about the Mercury retrograde bringing things back, because that happens with me, too.

Honestly, you may be calling in deep past lost love. (Those words were whispered when I read your last sentence. I heard you think you know who she is, too.)

Thank you for this clarity.

Hey @suntiger, thank you for checking it out! I'm happy you found it helpful as a clarifier. Please reach out if i can help with anything! 💘

All of this is completely new to me, including steemit. Do you think it's a good time to start a channeled blog? based on your article it doesn't seem like the right time, but it does feel very right though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53