Is today Friday? Wait! I thought it's Saturday! I lost a day. Isn't today Sunday? EVER HAPPEN TO YOU?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Sometimes the daily grind, becomes such a repetitive grind, it is easy to lose which day of the week you're in...

It seems like a small problem, but it could be signs of a bigger problem.  Why do we lose track of what day of the week we are in?  This is a lot more commonplace than NOT..

This seems like I'm rambling about nothing. Bear with me for a few moments, and you'll also bear witness to a complete weird day I just had, and you'll see how this strange phenomenon most people experience got REALLY strange for me recently.

I was driving with a friend to get my haircut.  As I stopped the car, I asked, "today is Tuesday right?" ...they laughed "No!! It's Wednesday! Where have you been?"

"Oh, crap. For some reason I thought it was only Tuesday" I muttered as I exited the vehicle.

I walked into the shop, and got a seat pretty quick with the hairdresser.

She started with the pleasantries and small talk. I soon brought up how I thought it was Tuesday, and I seemed to have lost a day.

"HA! She laughed. It's actually Thursday!"

She said it loud enough that other hairdressers on the line said "yes, it's Thursday"

My hairdresser said "I can't wait for tomorrow. It's my birthday.  I've waited all week, and I know I'm off Friday for my birthday, can't wait to get out of here on my days off"

"Uh, it's Wednesday apparently" I stammered.

"I'm pretty sure, it's Thursday" she said.

She got alarmed and immediately asked the other hairdressers on the line "it's Thursday, right?"

"YES!" they all said in unison.

"No, it's Wednesday. I thought it was Tuesday. I just got corrected. It's definately Wednesday" I explained.

My hairdresser and the next one to her, ran to the front checkout to check the computer. Everyone was flabbergasted at my claim of it being Wednesday.

"OMG!", one of the girls shrieked, "it IS Wednesday! Look at what the computer says!"

Everyone started chatting about how the whole shop was convinced it was Thursday until I arrived.

"So I guess your birthday isn't tomorrow then, it's on Friday", I asked

My hairdresser sighed... "Yes, I guess it's Wednesday afterall"

HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN - WHY DOES IT HAPPEN?

As I said before, it seems like a small problem, but it could be signs of a bigger problem.

If your daily routine doesn't change much, you have favourite days of the week. Like in the movie "Office Space", they say "It sounds like a case of the Mondays"... It's no secret, most people hate Monday.  Monday is the first day of most work weeks, and it's the longest time before the weekend reappears.

But what is worse, is that if your "weekly routine" seems so mundane, you can lose track of the day of the week "mid-week" because you're doing the same things, waiting for the same days to pass, for weeks and months on end.

I could go on and on about this...  but let's not waste any time doing that..

The point was this...

I forgot what day of the week it was...

So did the entire staff at a hair salon...

So did my hairdresser who was excited about her birthday a day away...

It's a phenomenon that shows us, that the daily grind is a problem. We've turned ourselves into worker machines where one week, seems like the next week, and the week after that...

When that happens, none of us are living and enjoying life. We're just worker drones.

Live each individual day as if it is your last.  Just get the day right...



Sort:  

Great post! This happens to me frequently, so I don't even think now, I just check on the computer! :P

I was hoping it wasn't just me or them. It happens to a lot of people. Thanks for validating that.. :) I don't just mean that in jest. I really was concerned only some of us were losing our minds. Welcome to the club.

haha, it is a BIG club. Everyone's life these days has become pretty mundane so we are not able to tell the one day from the other. Cheers! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

No. It is Sunday. You are just on the wrong side of the world.


ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating voluntary BOINC computations for science...

Yes. We must always take that into account. agreed.

Great post, strange how easy people change their minds!

Yes, this is strange.

For me, I work a shift Sunday through Thursday and have Friday and Saturday as my "weekend".

This complicates the question of "what day is it?" sometimes because Sunday is like Monday to me.

This article reminds me of the Seinfeld sit-com, but you took it to a meaningful place. It's been over a decade since I've been in such a daily grind, but I still remember the very feeling you describe here.

Sometimes the opposite situation occurs, that being life is so exciting and so much to do that you loose track of time, like when you fall in love and you make out for hours and can't believe so much time has lapsed.

Time is an abstract concept. Our perception of it can compress or expand depending on how our brains process external and internal stimulus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44