More Pocono Raceway Corvette Days, gone but not forgotten photos and memories

in #life6 years ago

2178_1088925467609_6898_n.jpg
Spent a good 2 days of getting some track training at Pocono Raceway. I still can use that knowledge learned to this day about apex's and exit edges and ways to turn and brake safely at decent speeds.
207090_1034730032757_6745_n.jpg
This was actually inside the tri-oval on the 3 different road courses they have; which provided lots of twists and turns to practice with. I did get to go around the big track lots of times, but I can honestly say that I preferred going through the inside tracks. They took more skill, and you could see other cars that were performing better, if not just as well, through the track.
2178_1088925507610_7190_n.jpg
This is a good example of being "out of the inside" courses and being on the main track. This is of course the front straight, and yes I know I am going to wrong way. NASCAR has cars go the other way. On these "track days", they have you go the opposite way. I really don't know what the logic is behind that, or if there is any. I am doing about 145 MPH in this photo. Please feel free to reply if you know the logic behind that. This particular event was run by the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA).
256195_2097781528380_298416_o.jpg
In later years, I took my son to real NASCAR race at Pocono Raceway. We had pit passes and were able to move around the cars and pits before things got started. I also got some photos of myself and him on the very same start/finish line shown in the picture right before this one.
257234_2097782648408_4934097_o.jpg
He liked walking around the cars and I felt different myself, having logged about 300 miles of travel on the track for various "track day" events. It was different to actually physically stand in places where I wasn't allowed to stand previously, and with my son. It felt like a rite of passage to an extent.
259199_2097783448428_6030298_o.jpg
I was never crazy enough to try to take a photo while driving on the course, so at least I got some photos of the track as viewed from the track itself. I think he will appreciate these photos much more later in life, when he can look back and barely remember this day. He will have photos to prove where he stood when he sees these various events and races on TV. That is what good Dads try to provide, or at least I think they do. Thanks for looking.

Any questions about driving on a real racetrack please ask. Yes, I did have to wear a helmet and you can't just use a motorcycle helmet. It has to be an "SA" rated helmet, not an "M" rated one. SA stands for special application.

This is a bit of a follow on to yesterday's post, if you want to take a look at that as well:
https://steemit.com/blog/@inspire1/corvette-days-are-gone-but-not-forgotten-for-me-due-to-divorce-crypto-was-one-of-my-ideas-to-help-rescue-my-financial-demise

Sort:  

Excellent post sir I just upvoted and resteemed you're post follow me for more random upvotes and resteems

Thanks very much for having a look.

Thanks very much for having a look. I appreciate it.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85