#ThreeFavorites ๐ŸŒ€ Sports

in #life โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)


Kinda silly, but a small idea for community engagement and getting to know each other! Maybe it'll catch, maybe not..?ย 


So, what are some of your favorite, best, or just plain most fun sports or games to play, or vicariously witness?!ย 


Here's my # ThreeFavorites, sports list!


#1: Good Old-Fashioned Down Hill Skiing


If I ever have a desire to "play" a sport, downhill skiing is the one. I started learning with my family at Mont St. Anne, near Quebec City Canada, when I was about 4 years old. (No, we didn't use wooden skis back then!^^)ย 


(Mont St. Anne)


Though no where near as expert as these skiers, I'd love to try my legs on a run like this...



I'm about halfway as good between those guys above, and this mouse who just bombs down the hill!


(Source)


#2: Wingsuit Flying


Okay, so I wouldn't ever consider trying, or getting good at this sport, let alone being bad at it, but boy does it look like a rush!ย 



Bonus #2! What I would do though, is called "Kite-Jumping" or "Power Kiting" when on land. Over water it's "Kite-Surfing," or, "Snow-Kiting." Seems much more controllable than the wingsuit I think^^



#3: Free-fall Catch


Though I've never tried this either, or even been skydiving, this looks to be the most amazing game I've ever seen. Simple, pure, and crazy fun! I'd have to try this if I ever got a few practice jumps under my belt first...



Now that I look at it this way, I see that these sports all have speed and an aspect of flight as their commonality. Interesting to realize this about myself! :)


What about you?! What are your #threefavorites, sports, places, games, movies, books, or something else entirely?! Please share, and feel free to link your post in the comments below! Have you ever flown a wingsuit!? (If not, please don't do it for my sake!)


Thanks For Your Attention and Support!ย 

Melech ben Chaya ืžืœืš ื‘ืŸ ื—ื™ื”, @inphiknit

Sort: ย 

Looks dangerous but fun

Too dangerous for me!!

Wow! That freefall catch looks like insane fun! My problem is that I'd get too focused on playing catch and would hit the ground without pulling my ripcord! :O

For me, 1) Surfing 2) Wingsuit and Paragliding 3) Spelunking

I have done 1) and 3), would love to try any form of 2)

๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„

@creatr

Did you see that move around the ball like he was just flying or something? Wait, he was flying!~

I think the diver got that moment just before what you describe, when they noticed the ground coming up real quick!

Spelunking must be good fun! I've explored some decent caves, but never needed to climb, slither or swim through them.

Please don't wingsuit! lol!

I may not wing suit in this lifetime, but fully intend to do so in the future Kingdom of God. That, and surf 100' waves... and probably try that freefall catch thing too. :) All by the kindness of Messiah. ;) ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„

@creatr

I wonder if we'd still have those kinds of desires in Olam Haba...?

Loading...

Hello, my friend @inphiknit! Why do you wonder such a thing?

You don't think the LORD is some kind of cheat, do you? Of course not.

"You open your hand;
you satisfy the desire of every living thing."
- Psalm 145:16

I do not believe that the LORD would give us patently good desires in HaOlam HaZeh, promise to fulfill them, and then pull a "bait and switch" on us. ;)

"Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart."
- Psalm 37:4

That is my considered opinion after a lifetime of meditating on the scriptures. Your mileage may vary, but I delight in discussing these matters with you!

You're right! Of course not! But notice the word living and the word heart in each verse respectively. (You'd really dig Torah study, looking deeply into each word, even which letters are used in it...)

Perhaps if I asked the question differently too... In the as "compete as possible" closeness with HaShem, how long would it take for me to desire anything physical?

We also learn that the majority of the "reward" for a physical deed/desire occurs in the physical, and those which are spiritual, (though they occurred in the physical,) in the spiritual realm. Also, since the "reward" for one single, properly done fulfillment of the law, is greater than all the joy, had by all people ever, were it felt in 1 instant, we cannot compute how elevated will be the state of a person in Olam Haba. To my mind, it seems like a wingsuit or anything on that level would become irrelevant. (Though I imagine that HaShem would allow it, were such a desire to survive?) You can read about this in Pirkei Avot, "The Ethics of Our Fathers." And this is a major discussion topic in various contexts throughout the Mishnah and Talmud, despite what people think about them...

You might find some of these links interesting.

https://www.google.ca/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=pirkei+avot+reward+in+olam+haba%3F&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&gfe_rd=cr&ei=t5O3WK3ADayC8Qf_n4egBA#q=pirkei+avot+reward+in+olam+haba&*

Sports beautiful . Writing poetry and short stories

Hey alright! I look forwards to more of your stories and poems!

Well my brother soon Mars Diary. I wish you like my writing

I'm guessing your #4 and #5 favourite sports are cheese rolling and wild boar wrestling!

Rofl! (Pun-ny!)

I don't think I could handle such a cheese roll! Nor could I wrestle a boar^^

Tennis, gymnastics and athletics :-)

Tennis is fun, 'till one gets heat stroke ;)

Lol, that's true!

Thought I'd have to jump through a hoop to get a laugh ^.^

gosh, your choices are so out-of-the-box. the videos i will have to watch later as videos are block at my workplace. for now, my favorite will stay the more common soccer, rugby, and basketball. the ones you have mentioned, exist still as dreams plus here, i dont get to watch them much. everything even the simplest things are like ginormous dreams in some nations.

I understand. Skiing in real Canadian snow! would be a treat for most people around the world I'd think. And renting a helicopter for a wingsuit flight would be pretty expensive I bet!

Hope you like the flying catch video when you get a chance!

Soccer is great fun though, and playable almost anywhere!

Looks thrilling but it's dangerous. Although I love to watch it but I always think of the consequences if things go wrong. God forbid.

Indeed! This is why watching it sufficient for me! G-d willing my desire will stay right where it is! No one should try this wingsuit if you ask me! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40