February Madness: PART 1

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Right, guys...

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on Steemit, or for that matter even been on Steemit. 13 days to be precise. Which doesn’t sound that bad but it feels like an eternity to me and I genuinely feel bad. A bit like this little guy here...

Image sourced via Pinterest

Work has been mad busy lately and my social life has been non-stop. So, I’ve decided to dedicate this post to my last two weeks here in London and give you a little taste of what I get up to. Which hopefully will also make you realise as to why I’ve been a little radio-silent since the 8th of Feb.

Let me just begin by saying this…

February’s been f*cking mental. I 100% didn’t follow my rule of “spread the fun” and ended up doing 1000 things more. Typically my weeks don’t fill up like this (actually… no, that’s a lie - they do because it’s London). Anyway, here is a screenshot of my calendar, including all my plans for this week too.

Let’s get the boring stuff out of the way first.

I love exercising and I genuinely get short tempered if I don’t get my load of endorphins on a regular basis. So things like Fight Klub (boxing to Drum & Bass music) and Get Ripped (weights class) are vital in my life. I also try and do yoga once a week (that’s if I can get up at 6.40am on a Tuesday) and swimming (which you can’t even see in my schedule). 

You might remember a similar photo from my Seven Day Black & White Challenge: Day 4 which was taken after one of the Fight Klub classes...this time in colour though :-)

But I see gaps in your calendar?

Yes, that’s right. You may see that Friday the 9th and Thursday the 15th are empty so I probably could have written something up for Steemit then but in my defence:

  1. I spent that Friday with @allasyummyfood doing absolutely nothing. I honestly have never been this excited to head home on a Friday night to catch up with my sister and watch some trash TV series (I won’t reveal which ones just yet. Lol). And eat naughty FOOD. Food always. AND...
  2. I was meant to go to a talk about - The Science Behind Game of Thrones (evidence) but sadly it got cancelled last minute so I think I went home to prep last bits and bobs for Alla’s big 30th birthday coming up that weekend.

Now, let’s look at all the fun shit I’ve done!

Each activity could easily deserve its own separate post but if I were to do this - I would probably be here till the morning so we’re gonna do Inga-style summary of each fun thing that I’ve done in the last 2 weeks.

Tuesday, 6th of Feb

Best F(r)iends with Tommy Wiseau and Greg Sestero LIVE

Sooo...for those who’ve never even heard of Tommy Wiseau and the film called “The Room” - go and watch it now, like right now. It is literally THE WORST film you will ever see but it’s also an absolute classic. It’s SO BAD - it’s good.

I mean, I don’t even know where to start....

Liam mentioned it to me about a year and a half ago so we ended up getting tickets to go and see it at the cinema where you are given plastic spoons (I’m not making this up) to throw at the worst/best moments, and a Q&A session with Tommy Wiseau himself (i.e. the director, writer and the main star of the film).

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

So, of course, as soon as we heard that Tommy was starring in another film, i.e. Best F(r)iends - we just HAD to go. We booked this probably a good few months in advance (like you do with most of the things in London) and Liam and I actually got to meet Tommy and Greg before the screening started. And even got the copy of the original script of “The Room” signed.

It turns out “Best F(r)iends” is a two part film so those who would like to catch Volume 2, you can still get the tickets for September the 10th or 11th at the Prince Charles cinema here.

But before you do this, I recommend that you:

a) watch “The Room” - ideally also at the Prince Charles cinema with some plastic spoons, and

b) watch the first part of “Best F(r)iends” - which I’m still very baffled about, haha

Wednesday, 7th of Feb

The Lion King Musical

This was definitely one of those things that Liam and I should have planned for much later in the year but hey, he managed to hustle some free tickets with work, and so we picked this date back in December. We didn’t ‘spread the fun’, no.

This was probably by far one of the best musicals I’ve ever been to (and I’ve been to a few). The set, the production, the costumes and the sheer amount of creativity that meant into this - just blew my mind. Acting I would say was on the weaker side (not for all but a few performers), regardless - I would give this 5 out of 5 stars without a doubt. No one was allowed to take any photos so I managed to dig this one out from the good ol’ net.

Image sourced from lionking.co.uk

I also cried at every other song. The Lion King brought up a lot of childhood memories for me, as I think it was my first ever Disney film. And I will never forget how our mum stopped the film half way through (just before Mufasa died) and told us to go to sleep as it was late - Alla and I were devastated. Though I can imagine she didn’t want us to get all upset right before bedtime so, fair play.

I soon found out that it wasn’t just me with the “puffy eyes” as Liam put it...


I blurred out the names and twitter handles to keep people’s data private

Again, if you have not been - I suggest you pick a reason to either celebrate your birthday or an anniversary, or just plan a nice family trip to the theatre and get those tickets booked ASAP! Then come back to this post and tell me what you thought of it :-)

Saturday, 10th of Feb

Bottomless Brunch, Chalked Out Vol. 3 and Jon Grayson’s gig

A pretty packed day, what can I say. First of, @allasyummyfood and I were about 40 mins late to a brunch with HER mates because she decided to join ME for a morning swim, AND a “quick” sauna sesh, AND a “quick” jacuzzi sesh, haha.

Blurry @allasyummyfood and I on our way to the London Grind!

Anyway, we made it and I decided to go for the bottomless prosecco for 1.5 hours for only £13. THIRTEEN POUNDS. I don’t know about you but that’s f*cking CHEAP for London! Usually you would pay anything between £20-£30 for 2 hours (and 2 hours can get you pretty wasted) so this was perfect. Plus I knew I was going out later so it was a win-win type of situation ;-)

Caught one of the funniest moments of @allasyummyfood holding her friend’s baby Boris

I got pretty tipsy with all that prosecco and headed to Shoreditch for a rap battle event - Chalked Out Vol 3 that my boyfriend Liam was filming on the day. He once was part of his own rap battle company called Don’t Flop but after 8 years it ended, yet Liam stayed very well known in the scene and introduced me to the world of rap battle and bars.

It’s nothing what I expected it to be when I went to his first few events. I imagined to see a lot of hood guys, freestyling ‘yo mama jokes’. But instead, I was pleasantly surprised with how diverse the crowds were and how incredibly technical and thought-through everyone’s bars are. Some guys write them weeks and months in advance which makes it a pretty amazing performance.

I would have loved to share a short video of Liam’s flatmate Sam (i.e. ARK - yes, everyone has a rap name) but I need to figure out how to embed them first, lol. But for now, here is a trailer that Liam put together to give you a little taster. Brrrrap! Haha

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The last stop (and by this time I was very pissed) was this little pub in Islington to see my school mate Johnny Gray (i.e. Jon Grayson - I guess everyone needs a different stage name too, lol) perform live. This was exciting as I’ve seen a few of his bits and bobs on social media but never been to his actual gig. Here is his page if you ever want to check out a fresh new talent in indie/pop music.

To top off the night, Liam and I ordered a pizza with stuffed crust (obviously).

Sunday, 11th of Feb

Dim Sum lunch and vinyl shopping

I might have been a little (just a little) hungover the next day so I decided to take Liam for lunch at my favourite Dim Sum place in Chinatown - London Chinatown Restaurant (I know, they really couldn’t come up with a more original name, haha).

Anyway, as I’m doing a meat-free month (I’ll talk about this in another post), we ended up trying a few new dishes, to spice things up a bit.

Mussels with black bean sauce (they tasted kind of interesting…lol)

and

Prawn and shark fin dim sum (and before you say anything - I do feel bad for those sharks but I also never tried this type of dim sum. And to tell the truth, it tasted pretty good…)

After this we went on a mission to get a few new vinyls for my collection. I was particularly interested in getting something Jazzy/Bluesy, just in time for the Valentine’s dinner at home. So I ended up buying the following three:

  1. The Essential Miles Davis
  2. COLTRANE 
  3. Bill Withers - Just As I Am

I have to say, some of these vinyls like Bill Withers - were much cheaper to buy in a vinyl store (£25 vs £37), whereas Miles Davis one I actually ordered off Amazon after seeing that it was almost 10 pounds cheaper on there. So my suggestion is to always cross-check the prices online when you’re in a vinyl store (that’s if you’re a little cheapskate like me, haha).

Beautiful street art piece we came across around Covent Garden area


That’s it, folks. PART 2 to follow...

Let me know your thoughts on all of the above, especially if you’ve done any of the things I’ve mentioned - in the comments below! 

Share, love, spread… (butter). Haha


Love,

Inga x

Sort:  

Absolutely love how much detail you've put into this. Really feel like I lived February with you haha. Nice one, Ings. This reminds me of when we used to write each other emails at school during the summer holidays and you would send me long ass replies! Which I loved btw. You've got a shit load of fun stuff planned at all times. Love your enthusiasm for life! Atttttta girl. Xx

p.s last pic of Liam with the street art.. LOVE. p.p.s you've inspired me to start boxing. p.p.p.s Lion King is the best of all time.

Haha thank you!! And yeah, I went deep into detail. Lol Guess everything has a background story to it :-)

Glad you enjoyed it, will try and release part 2 soon! Love x

Wow.. You've had a full week.. :)
Very much where you have been, and gained new impressions..
Super :) And thanks a lot for this film "The Room" recommendation.
Now, will be one more movie that must be watched.
Have a nice day and weekend, too. :)

I have! And that was just week 2 in February :-)

Amazing, definitely let me know what you think of it! Haha enjoy and thanks for stopping by!

Yes, yes..
It has been only 2 weeks. But I usually say it- the more do, the more manages to do.
Paldies par atbildi.
Thanks for reply. :)

Haha yeah that’s true! Thanks for stopping by :-)

No need to apologize for having a life outside Steemit. It's something we should all try some time ;) x

Haha thanks @condra - it’s good to know there are others out there who sometimes struggle to keep up with Steemit! :-)

Sent back votes

Hahah love the way you write, really fun and engaging! You have definitely planned too many things and too much fun for February! I also cried at Lion King and I honestly thought it was one of the best plays I have ever seen! We should do more sister lazy days! Well done for writing this... for those who don’t know Inga went to bed after 2 am this morning to write this post lol. That’s dedication!

Haha thanks baby! And yes, I definitely overplanned this month... lol

And don’t worry, we’ve got more fun stuff booked! Hehe x

Gahh!!! February has been mental for me too! Sounds like you had an awesome week though! :)

Haha, glad it's not just me then :-) And I have, still another week left though :-)

Crazy busy life! You've definitely got the energy and stamina for all of this. Nice to see you posting again though :)

Aww thank you! And yes, I’m back in the game ;-)

This is way much fun. You more than make up for the long time you've been away. Now i am a new follower...so try not to leave me hanging haha

Haha, thank you! And I will do my best - Part 2 is on its way! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! X

I definitely look forward to it. You are fun...love it.

That sounds hectic, but like a lot of fun. I miss London! But I'd probably go there now that I'm older and complain about it being too loud and busy :D

I think I've seen enough parodies and reviews of the Room to feel like I've seen it. I don't know if I could make it the entire way through the real thing

Haha, you have to, Keiran! It's soooo bad that it becomes very good!

And I feel you, I try and stay away from the busy/touristy parts of London as much as I can now. The city still has so much to offer though :-)

Looks like a fine February (and Dim Sums)

Haha, thank you. I've just posted PART 2 so feel free to check it out as well :-)
https://steemit.com/life/@ingaaa/february-madness-part-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51