DTube #6 - I bought my second apartment, but.....

in #life6 years ago (edited)


This is definitely one of my biggest accomplishments so far.
I worked "like a dog" for the last 10 years and I managed to buy my second apartment in Bucharest, the capital of Romania.
I bought the properties as investments as I do not live in Romania.
The video you watched was for the add I posted to find a tenant.
I finished furnishing and decorating about one month and a half ago and I rented it out.
BUT.....!!!!
The gentleman I rented the apartment to is a young business man from Germany. My first impression of him was very good, he seemed educated, polite and well off.
One month deposit and one month in advance was paid when we signed the contract in front of the estate agency representative who acted as a witness.
The next payment date should have been on the 20th last month.
It's been 16 days and I still haven't received payment.

  • On the 23rd I contacted him and he said that he is in Germany and does not have the contract with him so he doesn't know my bank details by heart.
  • I said not to worry and sent him the bank details again.
  • On the 26th after many unanswered phone calls he sent me a text message apologising for the delay and saying that he made the payment on the previous day and I should have it by the end of business day Friday 27th.
  • I said not to worry; I'll check my bank account on Friday.
  • On the 30th after many many unanswered phone calls I sent him a text message to check with his bank and see if the funds have bounced back to him as I still didn’t get the payment.
  • Eventually he sent me a text message late that day about 11pm and said that his mother died the day before on the 29th and that he will get back to me with a phone call within the next couple of days.
  • I replied to his message and I was very apologetic for my insistence and expressed my condolences.
  • I did not bother him for the next 3 days but eventually I sent him a text message expressing my condolences again, and explaining that I am in a delicate situation having to request the payment, but it's been a 2 weeks delay already.
  • Since then I did not hear back from him at all and he is not answering my calls.
  • After I told the agency yesterday, they went to the place and knocked at the door but there was no answer.
    The only service the agency provided was to find the tenant; they do not manage the property so they don't have the keys.
    The rent was 850 EUR per month but that's not what I'm worried about.
    I have expensive things in the apartment and he could have easily walked away with 20.000 EUR worth of goods.
    I don't know what to think anymore so I booked a last minute flight to Bucharest (for which I paid a fortune).
    I'll be there in about 15 hours.
    I don't know what to expect when I open the door, if he's still there or not....
    What do you guys think?
    Any suggestions?

Sort:  

Good looking apartment, hopefully you'll find that everything is OK. I suppose "young businessmen" equate to "entrepreneur wannabes" and those types try to make it with low funds, vague plans, and exaggerated dreams of riches... Anyway, have a pleasant flight :-) oh, and do let us know how it went!

Thank you!
I don't think he's a "wannabe". He is "loaded", but I'm not sure how he makes his money. That's the problem. Best case scenario he just left and I end up loosing the money I paid for the flight and the money I have to spend on changing the locks.
Worst case scenario,...Well I don't even want to think about it, but i'll probably end up calling the police

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56