Sort:  

It is easy to get distracted, either being too high or too low. The important thing is to stay focused and balanced.

As Kobe said "Mental toughness is never being too high or too low".

Yes, that habit of achieving balance we can call equilibrium. When it becomes natural to us to flow between these poles with perfect timing, not being rigid in our approach.

Yah. I have seen life this way too and has helped and it is still helping me see the next plan of action in my life to take.

Something like a meditation to me.

Human cycle fall on the path of action and in action, and most times, we find ourselves threading the path of unknown which stems from either our wrong move (action) or not doing anything at all (in action).
We need to keep calm and stay focus and allow the seeds inside us to germinate and grow unto a field with a large harvest.
Thank you for getting this together.

Yours, @mediahousent host wafrica discord show

So true. Often people do go between those extremes. If we can indeed "keep calm and stay focused" then all things bloom in their time.

Remains me of the book of the bible, everything has its own time and seasons. That is just how human cycle is too. Apology if you ain't from that line of religion madam. Just an analogy.

I wouldn't personally use that reference due to what else it says also, but I think we can let our own lives show us this. When we let things unfold for us instead of feeling like we have to labor to force it to happen in our own timing, we find that we really are quite blessed when we let ourselves be. It's just so hard for us to believe that we deserve for so much blessing to come without our having to suffer and strive to earn it first. So when we should be resting, we work and try to earn the happiness of rest. And then we miss the impulse to action that comes from spirit that was leading us to the easiest path to all we want.

Good thought and nice to read from you after some days of silence from you.

Remaining fallow at point in time in life is really not ok because death might knock at one's door at any point in time.
This is the reason someone said that "the burial ground is the richest place on earth" because most people dont empty their potentials on the earth before their death.

Lets not lie fallow for too long

I think we have to be engaged people to start. If we are lazy, disconnected people who are "dead" to the love inside us, then we can let our entire lives slip by doing nothing. But if we are caring and engaged with helping others, then when we allow ourselves to stop and rejuvenate, we can know there is no real worry it will be too long. It is the ones who least need to worry about that who don't ever let themselves rejuvenate, and then many times they burnout. At least in my country this "burnout" is quite common.

When we trust our own basic goodness, we trust that it will reveal itself in the world without our having to wear ourselves down.

Ahh the feeling of doing nothing. Just live simply while everything simply works out is something I really like the thought of often. Because I know I could make it happen. But I guess it's just the thought but when it all comes down to it I would be bored after a week lol

I love how your mind works, been enjoying your articles lately @indigoocean!

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve made it months in the past! But then I was writing and also practicing meditation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 40.84% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @indigoocean!

I've been through the action and non-action that you describe so well @indigoocean and have been living in a different question for a number of years now . . . can I feel OK when doing "nothing" just goes on and on?

When people take time out from "life" it is often experienced as you have described above, i.e. you took time out and then . . .

I felt a propulsion that came from within, and the next thing I knew not only was I going out, but every time I did someone would offer me amazing opportunities.

But what if that propulsion from within never comes? What if you are not offered amazing opportunities?

That is where I have been living for years now and I have still not made my peace with it.

What usually happens is I get my teeth into a project which feels great for a very short time, then goes on for a long time as a sort of compulsive activity because I don't want to go back to that place which I interpret as "having nothing to do".

But every time, sooner or later, I find myself reluctantly giving up the latest project because I can no longer believe the stories I'm telling myself about it.

Steemit is my latest "project" and I've now reached the phase of needing to let this go too. Maybe not completely. But at least to spend a lot less time here and that I have been doing.

But, inevitably that leads me back to the "what am I going to do now" discomfort.

However, I can see that that discomfort only exists if I'm looking into the future. There is nothing to do now in the moment except what I am doing. But thinking into the future and looking for a project or a label I can tell others and myself that I am doing causes the "pain".

So maybe I don't need to get better at doing nothing since, most of the time I seem to be very good at that, but I would find more peace if I got more comfortable with living in the moment.

I do that when I remember but it is very easy to be drawn away, living in the future or, at least with an eye on the future.

Can I let now be all there is?

“...but I would find more peace if I got more comfortable with living in the moment.”

I think that’s a big part of it. During my time in Bali “doing nothing” I was actually meditating and doing contemplative writing quite a lot each day.

And when I started going out the desire was just to eat out and then I would share a lunch table with a stranger and just start chatting. Why sit with a stranger? Why talk about the topics I cared about even though I’d had no success with them? Why were those people who could help me even sitting there at the time and willing to talk to me, let alone figure out how we could collaborate in some way?

To me that’s the part the stillness creates. But it has to be actual stillness, which is really just being present with the spiritual aspects of self and world. Otherwise it’s just letting time pass, and we become justifiably restless.

Posted using Partiko iOS

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 16.54% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50