Community Begets Community

in #life6 years ago

As mentioned in my last post, the needs of my canine companion mean I'm delaying my overseas plans for building a permaculture community farm and using eco-building techniques on the houses and dining hall.

I'm still in the planning phases though, and it so happens that I just came out of the most productive conversation with the host at my current airbnb, who turns out to have a lot of knowledge about several parts of that project. I also have useful experience in building land trust communities that was useful to her, as she plans to build her first intentional community.

Here where she is in the desert it wouldn't make sense to try to do a project involving growing food. Some things do grow here, of course. Lots of palm trees. Here are also a few pictures of the Oleander growing on the property.

While I'm in yet another desert for the next few years while I care for my dog, I'll be planting a regular garden on my own property there. I'll probably plant some of these Oleander varieties, plus maybe some Bougainvillea. Really I need to consult with someone who does landscaping in the area and work together to plan a low-water garden.

When I first got here I really thought, "People are not supposed to be living here." It was just so hot! And it's only June. What is August like?

Well she tells me it is insufferable and she intends to possibly come out my way for August! She also invited me to stay here anytime I'm passing through for free in the future. Yes, we really did become actual friends in an afternoon, sitting out in the yard on a super windy day that was so hot the AC would have had to run all day indoors just to keep the dog from panting.

We also have all sorts of plans for how we can help each other connect to others that each needs to bring parts of her vision to life.

It might seem strange that two absolute strangers would create such a community bond so quickly, but then we were both talking about communities we're trying to build. It isn't so strange that such people would be quick to form community with each other.

We also recognize from previous experiences some of the obstacles we face. We've both made attempts at creating intentional communities that have failed, though my failed one helped me pivot into my successful one. We are helping each other, pooling information, and preparing for a slow build across the years.

As I said in yesterday's post, no rush. Life is long, and we are blessed who allow ourselves to be used for blessing.

But one other important part of our conversation was that we were both fine with letting our visions morph and change as they are brought to life. We aren't forcing ourselves to stick to just what we can see from where we stand now, from who we are now.

We know that as we begin the process of birthing this thing, we will be changed by that process. We may later see a bigger or more precise version of what we're creating that we simply could not see until we began. So who knows that it will actually all wind up being.

It's great to co-create with people who have such a balance of commitment, drive, and ease of letting things flow into different shapes.

Is there something you've been wanting to create where you just haven't quite seen the how yet? Maybe begin discussing it with people when you feel moved to (only when the inspiration is there) and see how the road might rise up to meet you.

Red Oleander in the yard

oleander red.JPG

Pink Oleander from the yard

oleander pink.JPG

Sort:  

one of the friends i want to connect you with does landscaping :) i also worked for a landscaper. they're both based in taos, but perhaps could recommend one in your area? it's definitely hot this time of year. makes us grateful for shade <3

I'm buying in Taos, so that's great. Can you send to me on discord?

Growing things in desert areas is always a challenging task, at least to great effect. Hopefully it all goes well and you eventually get to where you want to be with having a farm!

Thanks. I am going to learn from the traditional farming practices of these areas, and while I'll probably go for someplace with a bit more water than here in NV, I am confident it will come together.

Fingers crossed for you then.

The desert is a wonderful place to build.
Get the skills you need and some planning.

Yes, whether in Taos, where I'm headed next, or Northern Africa, where I'm headed eventually, people have been growing in arid climates. Just have to learn from that wisdom. But not as dry as the Mojave. That's too extreme, and really unnecessary.

Hi @indigocean, the flowers are really beautiful, you could actually try planting the ones for your garden in the meantime and see how it would come out.

Planting in a desert could be difficult but i think irrigation would help.

I do really love these. Just another blessing of stopping here along my way to the high desert life. Definitely will need some irrigation. Just trying to minimize it to spare the well reserves. Thanks for stopping by.

How awesome that the two of you crossed paths the way you did. It's always refreshing when you meet someone who shares the same vision as you do. Enjoy getting to know each other even more during your stay as it sounds like the two of you are already life long friends lol.

hey @indigoocean
i'm just upvote u
check to my post oke!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You recently helped me recover a post that somehow had half disappear one evening. Now I'm upvoting you whenever I have the spare VP to do so. Thanks for what you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45