A Journey To Stanwell Park Beach

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A good part of the surfing experience is the journey and not just the destination that can bring so much happiness and calmness. This destination is magical but so is the whole journey. When I dream about surfing in my mind nothing else seems to matter. I am able to forget about everything and just focus on purely my surroundings. These enlightened experiences on the way to the beach seem to be connected to what happens when riding a wave. To live in the moment and forget about anything that could cause worry or stress.

The beauty and potential of a day can be made possible by just going somewhere I enjoy. That somewhere for me is Stanwell Park Beach. I am always drawn to go to this particular destination, even if it takes me longer to reach. I usually only make this trip few times a month but it is well worth the wait.

In the early morning I spring out of bed after reading that the swell and wind direction is ideal. My girl always says ‘be careful’. I don’t blame her as I boast many injuries and she doesn’t want to spend 4 hours waiting at the hospital again. I grab my Malibu and charge out the door forgetting my towel.

On my way to the beach, I begin to soak up that adventure feeling, that sensation you get prior to a getaway. The scenery of the national park that is a part of the drive is significant and the sun is out. I made a stop at ‘Bald Hill’, a lookout where I can see the waves and horizon in the distance. In the photo below is a position that immediately foresees the path to my destination Stanwell Park Beach.

P1010682.JPG

P1010687.JPG

Driving closer and closer to Stanwell Park, descending the hill towards the valley, I observe the glittering of light created by the overshadowing tree tops.

20171126_091432.jpg

Upon arrival I unload the 8 foot 6 Mal Surfboard from the car roof racks. I can hear native wildlife and the ocean in the distance.

P1010716.JPG

I love to walk the bush track entry, where the path is underneath some tree covering that has cool temperature and filtered light. There is a sense of mystery that is overwhelming. Even though I have been here before, it is always different. Never the same waves or conditions.

P1010693.JPG

The journey along the path is enriched and heightened by a specific light quality and vista. The experience to me is unforgettable, gradually revealing the horizon and beach at the end of the path.

P1010696.JPG

The delightful Stanwell Park Beach

P1010710.JPG

Towards the north end of the beach where I had torn my hamstring off the tendon 7 weeks ago. Glad to be surfing again even though I have to be careful not to re injure.

P1010697.JPG

The centre of the photo below is where I paddled out and took some amazing right hander waves.

P1010700.JPG

Thanks for your time and leave a comment. Please follow and upvote if you liked my Post. I will try to get my camera mounted on my surfboard for video clips.

Cheers

P.S check out my first blog if interested.

!steemitworldmap -34.230206 lat 150.990568 long Journey To Stanwell Park Beach d3scr

Sort:  

Nice! I'm looking forward to being back in Aus next month. Hoping I can get to the Gold Coast at least for some proper beach time. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Thanks. I copied the link into the post. Not sure if it worked? Does it take time for the post to show on the map?

I can't see the code in your post. You need to edit your post, paste the code, then save your post.

You'll get an auto response when you've done it right.

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -34.230206 lat 150.990568 long Journey To Stanwell Park Beach d3scr) I posted this

Nice post. I tried surfing once, long story, I’d like to try it again. Have fun on steemit. Hi, @choogirl !

You should try surfing more often. Get a decent size board with high volume as it makes it much easier to learn.

Hmm, not sure why you've not got an auto response. I've forwarded this to the coders to check out.

Breathtaking photos and a great story... told in a way that one can really get into it, feel as if one was there. Phew, that sign sure has a lot of warning labels, no wonder your girl is worried about you!

Looks like you got a great passion there.. reminds me a little bit of riding my Rocket. Actually I just accidentally came across a clip of a motorcycle trip in the Austrian alps and got a bit depressed with the thought, that it will be 4 month until I can take my baby out of winter storage :-b

Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

I just sold my black gsxr 2011 a few months ago. So I can understand what its like. Didn't think I would miss riding, until watching the new owner ride off, then it hit me, my baby was gone forever.

I will get a Ducati sports classic later in life. It is a very similar feeling to surfing. Gives a sense of freedom and to live in the moment. Track riding would have been on the cards, just too expensive. Surfing is practically free. My great grandfather was world champion bike racer and first mechanic for Harley Davison in Australia. I believe that was an interesting fact about my family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48