My Journey Continues: Cosplaying

in #life8 years ago

Another year is starting with a lot of changes in life.
I’m currently transitioning between STUDENT LIFE and ADULT LIFE, but I think, before I put myself out there, I want to reinforce this other identity that I care so much for. I want to take one step deeper into this hobby that I’ve been discovering so casually: cosplaying.
(For those who are new to this term, COSPLAY = COSTUME + PLAY. For a few, it’s a job. For many, it’s a hobby. For others, it’s a lifestyle.)

& I think that first step is to finally come up with a cosplay name.

Having a cosplay name allows you to embrace a new identity in this community of cosplayers. It’s similar to having an artist name whether you are a painter, a dancer, or a singer.

I always thought...

I ALWAYS THOUGHT cosplayers with a cosplay name/page were like.. OUUHHH & AHHHH [ie. A BIG DEAL in this alternate world where fantasy and fiction meets reality.] I mean, there are some pretty big names in the community. Try google searching Yaya Han, Jessica Nigiri, or Kamui… and see for yourself! It's intimidating to join a community like this where people are so talented [just like this STEEMIT community].

I ALWAYS THOUGHT they were bold, confident, and extremely skillful individuals. Excuse me, THEY ARE… BOLD, CONFIDENT, AND EXTREMELY SKILLFULL INDIVIDUALS… and they inspire me as I scroll through their works in awe to step out of my comfort zone and create wonderful things with these hands that I have. I've learned so much from watching their tutorials and progress posts on multiple social media sources.

I ALWAYS THOUGHT that I would never be able to achieve what they have achieved or accomplish what they have accomplished. I always this.. and always thought that… but after deeper thinking… [honestly…] why not? All these individuals no matter how GODLY there are in my eyes had to start somewhere [Right?]. And so…

LETS START!

But, dear lord, IT WAS A HARD FIRST STEP. Choosing a cosplay name is like… choosing a name for your baby (cosplayers work really hard on their projects and tend to their creations with great care often pouring sweat, tears and, the occasional blood from stabbing themselves with sewing needles into their work)... It’s also like... your new IDENTITY!

It’s a HUGE deal. Why you may ask? Because it’s a ONE TIME THING.

You’re stepping into this new community. You [might] want to be cool, but not sound like you’re trying to hard… You don’t want to be that little child who created their first email and called it… XxXPrincess_Luv_So_C00L123XxX or $WAGBRO94… and be stuck with that [or maybe you do?].

And so, in this beginning of 2017, I have [finally after weeks of thinking] decided that I will now and forever [hopefully I don’t change my mind] be… TOKIDOKI COSPLAY. It literally means “sometimes” in Japanese literally relating to fact that I sometimes cosplay. It was my witty way to carry a name that would remind me of the Japanese roots of animes while also making myself laugh at my own weird sense of humor every time I would think about it/see it/have to explain it.

All this to say, I finally created a cosplay page where I look forward to share with many and learn from many more. It’s a bit empty for now (I just made it today), but feel free to pay a little visit from time to time!

https://www.facebook.com/TokidokiCosplay

Image of Tokidoki_Togetic_Gijinka_1
PC: BRKU Photgraphy https://www.facebook.com/brkuphotography

Have you experienced joining a new community/club/hobby group recently?
Are you planning to in this new year?

PS: If you don’t understand why theres a bunch of words mashed up at the bottom of the page, you can read my introduction post https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@imeeveemi/introduce-yourself-traveller-cosplayer-doer-and-new-graduate !

boardgamesthesmellofcutwooddomocompletedsudokustwixcandybarsperiodictables

Sort:  

Excellent, upvoted and followed

Have you experienced joining a new community/club/hobby group recently?

Yes, this one! XD

Everyone has to start somewhere. Someday (possibly even right now for all you know) you'll be that godlike to some brand new cosplayer ;)

Heeheee That's sweet.
I aspire to inspire others :)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT!

Beautiful picture! Welcome to Steemit and looking forward to more from you! Cheers!

Upvoted, followed & re-steemed!

Glad you enjoyed the content of this post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09