The day I got arrested for $1,30 by a racist police officer in South Africa and being thrown into a cell. ( Part 3 of 3 )

in #life6 years ago


Image Source

...continued

I got put into a very dark and gloomy looking cell. It smelled horrible. Urine and poop. Literally, that's what it cmelled like. Non stop, without pause. The cell was filled with that stench from the previous "guests". The toilet didn't flush, and it was filled with like this brown poop water. I'm sorry for the graphic detail but I'm trying to portray how horrible it was in there. The toilet was covered in what looked like old, dry pigeon poop. You know what white poop, it covered the toilet. I dare not to think how it got there.

The cell was...

  • About 3m by 3m
  • Dark
  • Stinky
  • Graffiti all over the walls
  • Gang signs
  • Walls were painted in what looked like black or a very dark navy blue
  • Dirty, old blankets, about 3
  • One dim light in the ceiling that was covered with a wire mesh ( Light never got put out, stayed on 24/7 )

It was a horrible place to be in. I think the worst was not knowing the time, or when you were going to be released. I think for me that was the worst. Constant shouting between cell-mates. Swearing, and bad mouthing each other for who knows what reason. The minute I got put in there I burst out crying. A grown man crying. It was too much for me at that point. Just too much. The feeling of utter hopelessness. The feeling of being locked up.


Image Source

I pretty much went to sleep purely for the fact to pass the time. I just wanted time to fly by so I could be closer to getting out of there. Round about 11pm that evening they brought another gentleman to be my "bunky". Dude got busted for DUI. It was also his first time and he was scared, you could see it. He was still a bit drunk when he came in, so he basically went straight to sleep. I remember him constantly saying, "Dude please don't steal my shoes". I'm like, "Where the flip must I go even if I do steal them?".

Next morning he wakes up ( round about 5am-ish ) and greets me. Sober, but still scared. I greet back and we get to talking. Who you are, why you're here, is this your first time etc etc. Basically getting to know each other. He wasn't a bad guy to be honest. Just made the stupid decision to drink and then drive. We start asking each other, "When do you think we'll get out of here?". Trying to remain positive amongst what is most probably the worst place I've been. ( Prison itself is obviously worse ).

Now and then police officers would come to "check" up on us, if you can call it that. I remember asking the one officer for a roll of toilet paper, like 3 or 4 times. To this day I'ms till waiting for those assbags to bring me that toilet paper. Not that I would ever sit on that gross toilet, but you never know if the other guy would. The morning drags along, no hope, no sunlight, just the constant shouting of the other inmates and that friggen smell of urine and poop. Nightmare to say the least.


Image Source

All through the morning all we pretyt much did was sleep and sit, sleep and sit. My girlfriend came to visit me at about 2pm, which was the time where I almost broke down again. Another human being! We chatted a bit and she told me my sister was on her way. After a few minutes she leaves to go speak to the inspector regarding my release until Monday when I had to appear in court. I wait, about an hour passes and this african lady comes to let me out. I'm like, "Am I released!". She's like, "No".

That feeling of hope and then despair was horrible. She takes me into a room and starts filling out a mountain of paperwork. She was nice, not like those other two assbags who arrested me. After a while I start putting two and two together. Why would she ask me if I left any belongings behind when I was arrested? Why is she telling me to be in court on Monday at 7am? Then it clicked, I am being released! I felt liek jumping for joy. But I remained "quiet". Last thing I want is for this woman to change her mind, because she apparently had the power to let me out or keep me ther euntil Monday morning.

She takes my fingerprints and fills in more forms. After what seemed like an eternity she tells me I must be in court on Monday. I wanted to hug her but she refused. Whatever. As long as I get outta here. She informs me my "cellie", my "bunk mate" is also being released after me. Ok good, awesome. I get let out the gate and thank her over and over and thank everyone in there for releasing me. I didn't see the two assbags. I hug my sister, I hug my girlfriend, and tell them, "I just want to go home". I have never been so grateful to breathe "free" air. Oh my gosh. Heaven!


Image Source

I hop in the car with her and we go straight to KFC. I wanted food! I go home, take a well deserved shower, shave and clean myself up. Spent the rest of the weekend with her and my sister. Monday morning at the court I start talking to this random lawyer standing outside. Tell him what happened to me and he says it's a joke I even got "locked up". I go sit in the court room waiting for the court to start. He walks in and says, "Oh are you also due at this court room?". I say yes and he asks me, "Would you like me to speak to the prosecutor for you?".

I'm like, "Yes that would be great!". This man, whom I have just met, organised for the case to be nullified as they call it. Thrown out. Disgarded! No criminal record, no waiting for the judge to plead my case. I couldn't believe it. Was this really happening? I said thank you and got out of there as fast as I could. It was over. The nightmare has ended on a positive note. I can now continue living my life!

Never, ever, again do I ever want to experience that again, being locked up. To this day Is till have a bit of a phobia buying candy because of what happened. Never again do I want to go through that.

To the two assbags who arrested me, I'm not upvoting any of your posts for a while.










Sort:  

I am still trying to figure out what you did wrong to end up getting locked up. Let me have your blankets*👊🏽😠

Didn't pay for 2x candy bars, labelled as a thief, arrested as a thief.

Now good to see that you added some fun aspects brother and after that horrible situation you got freed and ending lines were really funny man about those upvotes. Ha ha. Enjoy the day and thanks for sharing this last part with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Stay blessed brother. 🙂

Congratulations @iamnotageek! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.58
ETH 2760.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65