You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Clothes Identify Your Gender?

in #life6 years ago

Hi @xyzshu,
First I would like to say that anyone has the right to chose what they wear, but we as a society retains the right to judge someone based by their apparel as it reflects their personality.

I do not believe uniformity. Males and females are equal in that they should have the same rights and be respected to the same extent, based on their actions but they are at the heart different, and nothing can change that. It's simply an outcome of evolution.

I would not feel comfortable wearing an outfit of a different gender, simply because I don't want to. Not because of society, because I don't like the style and how it portrays me.
I would be comfortable wearing an outfit I like, but only if it was appropriate for the situation as judged by society.
As for the 3rd question, no.

It's sad how people care are so PC these days that clothes are now sexist.

Sort:  

Yes, you're right. Behind all this hype of gender equality, we also need to recognise the inherent biological differences too. But that said, clothing style should not be made the benchmark to differentiate it.

I can understand your feeling of comfort in the dressing style of your preference. But current social norms have a good influence over it. Our actions are guided by what society judges to be appropriate or not. But gender-equality movement wants to change those social norms of what is right and wrong. Once the gender-neutral dressing gains widespread acceptability, we all will feel comfortable in that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35