Simple Walls of Kindness We Can Put Up - (100% Proceeds of this post go to @hopebank)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Simple! A Wall of Kindness... (100% Proceeds to @hopebank)

Here is a simple, but an ingenious idea how to help people in need.

A wall of kindness...


source

The concept is that is a day is chosen each week, when people can bring down their unwanted clothes, books, footwear and things that they don't use anymore, so that they can be picked up someone who does need them.

I know I have talked about having a wall of kindness with a couple of people in my local town, here in the UK, but the idea was met with skepticism, as to what kind of people would take the goods (ones that would then sell them on eBay or Craigslist to make a profit), whether they would have a real need for them and would the idea need to be 'policed'.

I think this could be a case of trying it to see.

This sort of thing here could work on a smaller scale - tying coats etc to lamp posts, with little notes on them to say that they are not lost items of clothing...


source

The same people I have talked with on this subject of setting up a kindness wall have set up a giving group for the local town, which aims to brighten up the day of one particular person, with a gift basket full of donated items that are tailored to the needs of the said person. The person we are trying to help, and lift her spirits has had a particularly bad year with her autistic son. It is in effect a Facebook wall of kindness, I suppose.

What takes on the wall of kindness might you try?

This post is raising SP for the @hopebank, with 100% of the awards going to this account.

Why?

Read About the Hope Bank Project

If you are interested in helping make this initiative a success, The Hope Bank Project has a dedicated channel within the YouAreHOPE server, kindly facilitated by @sircork. Please join here:
https://discord.gg/BcQXacf

Sort:  

I'm all for short form posts but this is taking the biscuit! ;0)

Unless... Wait... Were you typing my name!

-- edit. I swear this only had the letter m in it a minute ago!!

I post the @hopebank posts using steemwhales so I can donate whole proceeds to The Hope Bank Project. It is easier just to put nothing in content to get it to post, then paste content in, once it is up on the blockchain, so you caught me on the hop lol

Hehe, I thought it morphed into a big post awfy quick!

What a great concept, I love it. Now going to up vote & re-steem this post. It may help inspire others to do the same. Good luck to you & well done.

I have seen mention of small, anonymous community outreach projects like this but have not personally witnessed one in action. These days, any bundles left unattended make people nervous.

I have participated in book bag campaigns for needy children who need school supplies. Another project I'd like to put together are micro-libraries . Now that I have a decent front yard one of my spring projects is to make one and see how it goes in my neighborhood. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38