Be Determined Like a Tree

in #life7 years ago (edited)

100% Rewards From This Post is Going to @hopebank

Have you ever heard of Paul Rokich?

He was born near a Utah sulfur dioxide belching refinery that pretty much destroyed everything in its diameter.

Ad he grew up, he was appalled at how awful it all looked, so Paul vowed that he would do all he could to bring back the trees that the sulfur had destroyed.

The sulfur refinery would not give him permission to plant trees on the grounds of the plant.

Paul Rokich went to study botany in college and his professor talk him in no uncertain terms that nothing would ever grow in such wasteland again.

But Paul was not one to give up.

A few years on, he started to sneak back into the refinery and planting seedlings week after week.

Most of the seedlings didn't survive through drought, fire, being dug up, poor soil, but he kept planting and some survived and began to grow and animals began coming back to the area.

Finally, Paul got permission to carry on his planting on the land. He got a crew of people to help him and machines and today the area is 14,000 acres of trees, plants, and animals.

It took Paul Rokich a lifetime to achieve this goal, and he persisted even when things were difficult and beyond his control.

Carry on even when things seem futile, keep on planting as one day sooner or later your determination will pay off.

Source

This post is raising SP for the @hopebank, with 100% of the rewards going to this account as it is posted with Steemwhales.

Why?

Read About the Hope Bank Project

If you are interested in helping make this initiative a success, The Hope Bank Project has a dedicated channel within the YouAreHOPE server, kindly facilitated by @sircork. Please join here:
https://discord.gg/BcQXacf

(I am on a whole host of discord groups, you are bound to bump into me somewhere, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me about The Hope Bank Project)

More followers and upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto, that if it takes off we'll all be laughing: Swift Coins
Where bitcoin becomes real hard cash: Wirex App

Sort:  

You are doing great thing, you have my full support.

Thank you @olegw. I think I may be able to get it up and running in January. Fingers crossed.

You do amazing things!
100% upvote,I hope it will help :D

Thank you so much for the @hopebank graphics, sorry I should credit you on the design of them. It's getting close now to being able to launch. I will have have to get brave for radio

I want to fill my life with this kind of person. Judging from your signature pic, you are also this kind of person :-)

Yes, it seems it is hard to meet people like this in day to day life, but Steemit is a magnet for determined people.

the determination of a tree is so amazing to be compared...nothing stops it from growing.thanks @hopehuggs

I have written a whole series of posts about trees and how amazing they are. I love trees.

What a touching story. Always fun how nature just surprises us sometimes. Maybe there is hope for this planet after all.

I am learning to truly appreciate your attitude.
Brent

@hopehuggs hard work truly pays off. I've been reading about your Hope Bank Project but never really checked it out. Checked it today and I can see how inspiring this project is. I know someone here on Steemit, I've known him through here as well and could definitely benefit from this project. Check out @cryptopie. :)

Yes, he is on my radar actually. I know the first person I plan to help. I have already talked with them.

Determination is not a feeling. Determination is a decision. Once the decision is made it will be followed through even if that means that you will die.

Rokich his dedication payed out.

Be determined and dedicated like a tree then. :)

Quite the story. I loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Brent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34