How Anyone Can be a Superhero by Just Being Kind

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have an interesting task for you today, but before I do I want to ask you to imagine what kind of impact this would have if everyone reading it took action and then think about what if everyone on Steemit took action and more and more people...


Source:Pixabay.com

This is something that everyone can do and benefit from.

When you go about your usual days activities, whether that be work, school or daily errands, make a point of making someone else's day a little better too.

It could be a simple something like giving someone a huge smile, having a meaningful conversation with someone who is feeling sad, lonely or lost, or buying (or making) lunch for the homeless man huddled knee deep in cardboard.

If you not going out anywhere today write a letter of encouragement, leave a meaningful heart felt comment, phone someone important to you and tell them that you love them.

Here are another 100 Ideas to make Someone's day.

It really does not matter what you choose to do as long as you do something today that brighten's another persons day.

When you make a conscious point of making someone's day better, how does it make you feel?

It is almost like a blissful feeling.

Our happiness can be unlocked by the key of helping others around us be happy, or by helping out.

When you think about it, it makes sense as we are social creatures who in order to thrive need to work together, so it naturally follows on that helping the people around us internally rewards us - our happiness increases when we actively try to improve the lives around us.

So this is a another very useful tool in our happiness toolbox is to try and help those around us. It will help you feel better and someone else feel better too.

I realise (and personally) know that it is hard to do this when you are feeling depressed or down, but these are the times you need try to force yourself to do it as your mind is hardwired to make you feel happy and proud to help someone else.

The best way to make this work to its full potential is to make helping other people a daily conscious habit. When it becomes ingrained in your daily life and you make it your daily mini mission yo help someone as you go about your day, you will start to automatically do it, even (and especially when) you don't really feel up to it.

These are the days we need a little extra boost and you need also to be firm but kind to yourself also. You deserve happiness.

Maybe you could make things a little more exciting an challenging by identifying 30 things you could do for people and write them down and put them in a jar and pick one out daily, as it really doesn't need to be anything complicated or big, just kind.

Just imagine a world, where everyone does this.

It starts with you and I, my friend.

JOIN

Sort:  

Lovely post @hopehuggs !

I realise (and personally) know that it is hard to do this when you are feeling depressed or down, but these are the times you need try to force yourself to do it as your mind is hardwired to make you feel happy and proud to help someone else.
I think this is so true! The minute you start helping you discover that you feel so uplifted! As a wise man once said:

HELP EVER - HURT NEVER

That is a good rule to live by, but sometimes you don't mean to hurt people, but do. But you can always try to make amends.

ahhh! actually this means when you help others , your OWN hurt vanishes -)

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

It can be hard but nothing good is easy. Great idea :-)

I agree it can be hard, especially when in a bad place yourself. Sometimes the person you need to be kind to is yourself.

I loved the idea, that we should gather all together like Mormons and spread the good deeds around. i really think it is a must for your day to make someone's life a little easier . It doesn't take much from you. Smile to other person, give a little help in various situations . They will see it and probably they will also do the same to other( maybe in a time with a few person)

Its exactly that, be the change you want to see.

Great post HH.
Everyone who knows me says I have the biggest, infectious smile.
I smile at strangers so often I'm sure people think I'm 'touched'. 😂
I lived in London for a long time and it was depressing how people think you're a nutter of you smile at them. It didn't stop me though, for every one out of ten that smiled back on the tube it was worth it knowing they were like me and their day was a little bit better.

I lived in London too for a while. I'm surprised anyone actually notices a smile. But I can tell your smile is big and infectious from your words. :)

If more people could live with this in practise the world would be a much better place. I would try my best to imbibe this.

Absolutely, even if everybody just tried and succeeded more times than not.

This is the truth.

Being able to help someone is a gift that gives you the chance to glow from the inside.

💚

I love the feeling. Especially when something is done anonymously and you can just imagine the person's response.

This post has received a 18.64 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @hopehuggs. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Excellent post! You are a great person and a wonderful inspiration. I wish more people were like you!
I too try to make people have a better day any chance I get!

Oh thank you, I have days when I don't feel like a good person at all, but I try my hardest and that's all anyone can do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43