In the world of pure imagination-- a tribute to Gene Wilder

in #life8 years ago

Gene Wilder got me through a lot as a kid. His quirky portrayal of Willy Wonka to Peter Olstrum's Charlie Bucket was a lifeline.

My childhood was rocky due to poverty. It seemed like we could never get ahead. Bankruptcy rolled around after we tried to get my extended family visas to stay in the U.S. rather than return to their war-torn homeland. The negative balances stuck around because my family had numerous, severe health problems.


And it doesn't matter as long as the outlook is up.

This isn't a sob story.

I never lost hope that we would make it out of the cockroach palaces that doubled as low-rent apartments complexes. Why? Because Charlie Bucket made it out. He got a golden ticket, but that's not what won him access to a different life. It was his positive outlook and persistence in having it seen.

Charlie was trustworthy and kind, and he kept his eye out for the Willy Wonka's of the world. Not for the money, but because, like Grandpa Joe and his mother, the people who persevere at putting kindness into the world are the world changers. The music makers. The dreamers of dreams.

There was something about Gene Wilder that brought Willy Wonka's humanity beyond the screen. His smile made me believe that magic does happen when we put our best foot forward. So I never lost hope.

As a result, several opportunities have arisen that allow me to pursue my dreams in my writing niche. And now I'm doing it outside that niche, right here on Steemit. I'm living pure imagination.

Sort:  

I still can't believe he's gone.
My father did his best to support a family of 6 on Army pay and we had a lot of ramen noodles and liver and onions for dinner. My family also had to go through helping extended family immigrate to America. At one point we had about 10 people living in a 2-bedroom/1 bathroom house! Thank goodness we had a dry basement. But Gene Wilder was always there to lift our spirits across our language barriers. Young Frankenstein was our family favorite. :)
Hopefully he's laughing and dancing with Gilda Radner again :)

Aww. I hope he is too! Such an amazing legacy. <3

This is such a lovely, and positive post :)

Trying to be more positive. Your posts inspire me. :)

Amazing guy! Thanks for sharing this ;D

He was Willy Wonka when I was a child and he will always be the only Willy Wonka. What he brought to that role was amazing and the song Pure Imagination is still something that helps me through tough times.

Sad he's gone.

So glad he lives on through his work and our memories of him.

Thanks for sharing. I did a small review of Frankenstein Junior over at my steemit blog, just days before he died :-( .. he will be missed for sure

Heading over to read now. <3

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18