Kitchen Day (Is there anything I can't do?)

in #life5 years ago

Yes. I am terribly modest. Thank you.

In my house, we've never cared about traditions much. Well, about certain traditions, surely, but we also disregard the most popular ones - like you have to stuff your face with food on Easter. You have to have all sorts of lamb products in your house and basically toil for four days setting up the Sunday meal. You might be thinking aren't I a wee bit late with this?

But thing is, in Ro, Easter is today, because Ro is an Orthodox country mainly. And since my grandma also holds with this Orthodox tradition, I figured it'd be nice and make some cozonac, which is basically a really troublesome, oversized cake. And one of the main cozonac ingredients is yeast, you know, so that it grows.


58571168_438111043609819_6173577152227704832_n.jpg

Well, let me tell you, I stumbled upon some freakish mutant yeast that just kept growing and growing, eventually becoming this vast dome over the cup I had it in. Then I moved it into another bowl, it grew there as well and outgrew the cup once more. Then I poured it into the cake mix, but there was still a bit left on the bottom of the cup. And I was shocked to find it was still growing in there.

Fucking freaky.

Sadly, I have no photos of the yeast, because I was too busy praying for mercy at the time. Oh well, next time. Anyway, evil or not, it worked wonders on my cozonaci. I ended up with two and a half, even though I'd only ever meant to make two decent-sized ones :)) Enough to serve a small platoon.

And while I'm happy with how they came out, they're really hard work, you have to mix it by hand and to knead it and it's not an actually soft mix, so it really makes you work. So, I spent the better part of yesterday in the kitchen, getting into the Easter spirit for a change. Talk about cardio, man, I swear I'd lost two kilos by the end of it. Which was good, since I then put it right back on when the cozonac was cool enough :))

So, Paste fericit to any Romanian readers. As for the rest of you, how's your weekend going?

Here, it's quiet as a tomb, if you'll pardon the expression since mostly everyone is inside stuffing themselves silly.

Cheers for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Yum! This looks delicious 😋 and seriously.. be careful with that mutant yeast... it will take over your house 👀

Happy Easter!

I know, I'm really scared :P I got a friend to promise she'd come over with a wooden stake and destroy it if she didn't hear from me again :))

Thank you. :D Happy Easter :D

I want cozonac!

Paste fericit HD!

awww thanks :D And the offer I made @blewitt stands for you also - come over, I'll save you a piece :P

Hey, stop inviting people over... There's little left already...!
By the way, guys, it is really good...

Well, that's why they should hurry on over. If they don't make it in time, they can help with another batch. :D Win-win situation, as far as I can tell...

Hmm, very tempting...It's a long way for cake but I've travelled further. I'm going to do some stranger gazing whilst eating it...

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww and here I was, thinking you'd eat it with me...ungrateful :P I mean, I'm not a stranger....am I? :O :O :O

I would! We'd be stranger gazing together...With cake. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

But then strangers would gaze at our cake and try and steal it while we were busy stranger-gazing 😆😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Those theiving bastards! Ok, must lock ourselves away and eat cake!

Posted using Partiko Android

Much better, plenty of time for stranger gazing later. You really get some quality stranger gazing done on a full stomach. And they gaze right back at ya, you know, to make sure you don't roll over them 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Holy shit you are funny! I've never followed someone so fast in my life. 😂

Thanks, I guess :D

Looks tasty as hell. I’m in!

Come on over, I'll save you a piece 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Orrrrr you could just make a new one as it might be a while. Just saying...don’t cheap out and serve me year old leftovers. Geez...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Man, you're demanding. And FIY, cake made by me is great in 10 years also, so
... :P

Posted using Partiko Android

Correct. I’ll be a terrible houseguest. I’ll just get some boxed cake here to hold me over in the meantime.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You don't know what you're missing 😈

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56