An Update About Me -- Or, How to Risk Your Safety to Save a $USD (Note: Don't)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

How I Risked My Safety to Save a Buck, and How You Can (Shouldn't) Too!


Questionable Residential Structure Fire

Hello Steemonauts, @holsturr here.

From day one, it was my plan to throw myself into Steem and everything it has to offer, especially my grandiose plans of multiple top-shelf, high quality posts a day. But, life had other plans for me last month (March 2018).

When launching a business, or any new endeavor, it is often prudent and wise to do so on a minimalist - sometimes called "shoestring" - budget. Although I am fortunate to have completed K - 12 in a unique university environment (and later completed university in a university environment), I grew up on rural acreage in the Ozarks countryside.

In other words, as 'ol Hank Jr. crooned, I can "skin a buck and run a trotline, and a country boy can survive."

I've rented residences in some destitute locales, confident in my ability to make due based upon my upbringing and, frankly, my propensity for being simply and easily entertained. But, when your safety is in question, or the security of your property, saving a buck or two by renting in high-crime low-quality neighborhoods may not be the most prudent idea, even if things go well at first.

Ask me how I know.

Put succinctly, chronic persistent problems with neighbors that made daily work difficult or even impossible turned out to be nowhere near worth the money saved on relatively low rent when weighed against the lost income and health detriments incurred from living in an unlawfully culpable and bereft community.

And last month, when the neighborhood hit an unreasonable level of violence, it became clear that it was time to bail. It's not worth the safety of my loved ones, visitors, and/or property, or the risk that I'll need to defend myself and lay some knuckleheads out, just to save some cash on lower rent payments.

Learn from my mistakes Steemians, live and operate somewhere livable and safe if you can. Life and business is all about risk management, and sometimes increased danger is not worth reduced rent.


This has been @holsturr, thank you for reading!

Please feel free to comment, resteem, and follow me!

EBT cardholder? Get Amazon Prime discounts!

We participate in affiliate programs to fund content creation, please see our disclaimer for details!

Thanks again! 😍🌷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66619.84
ETH 3497.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71