Just words

in #life5 years ago

Today was the first day in a very long time that I've had nothing to do. No appointments, no photo editing, no work.

I can't remember the last occasion like this. There's plenty that I could do... like weed the garden, clean the gutters, or play a game, or watch a movie...

The reality is today is also a day where I find myself suffering from the most onerous case of mental inertia in quite some time.

I'm horrible at having nothing to do. Absolutely woeful. If I don't have structure or productivity, or some measurable outcome or achievement, I may as well have better spent the day sleeping, or collapsed into a pile of cells overcome by gravity.

Or perhaps, sitting in a dark room, the sloshing of the washing machine audible as cicadas fill the refreshing evening chill beyond the window as I write this, the opposite of what I wrote on Facebook which was much simpler: "Have cards against humanity and four chairs, message for address".

I could play a video game. I don't want to invest time in a dead end today. I could have watched a comedy. I don't want to be more pissed off at the absurdities of the world.

I want truths, real satire, and things to blossom. I want to be seen to have a measured positive outcome from today, beyond the holes I repaired in my mother's home's walls.

In an unrelated manner, my team at work is now "agile" and in a world where every action is measured and quantified for forty hours a week, eight hours without a blip of progress on anything seems like an unrecoverable waste of time.

Vent over. More photos to come soon in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I think if you're at the point where a few hours of inactivity feels irksomely unproductive, you probably need several days of inactivity to reset. Not necessarily a Tibetan mountaintop or one of @choogirl's silent retreats; but a few days camping up the Murray in a kayak with @thevillan would do the trick.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.282 which ranks you at #806 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 87 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What @mattclarke said XD

Don't be an old school wagon wheel chandelier completely on fire like me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64050.44
ETH 2502.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65