Clunk! clak! Bunk! Booosh... One of those days. R.I.P. my camera.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Ahhh what a morning! Waking up, making some tasty oatmeal breakfast mixed with raisins and apple - only to top it off with some delicious fresh pressed orange juice.

After that getting my coffee, doing my daily check on Steemit to see how many cents richer I am today. Responding to some comments from those pesky Americans that decide to comment in the middle of my beauty sleep.

I thought today, I wanted to write an awesome article, with fresh photos from the autumn. I do after a great camera for that.


So I made myself ready...


I skipped the shower since I planned on taking my bike and expected to get a bit sweaty, so better safe that pleasure for later. Man did I feel good! I took a quick peek outside the window to test the temperature, just to judge if I needed a jacket. I decided I wouldn't need that today, not a single cloud on the sky.
So I Packed some snacks, my camera and headed down the stairs to get my bike.


Then it all happened so quickly...


Just before taking off I decided: Why not document also the whole day? So I aligned my bike up, took my camera out and made a great shot of my beauty. With my camera in the hand and about to take off I regret my decision of not bringing my jacket, it did feel a bit too cold in the shadow.

I was a bit too excited to go actually, so I hurried a bit. As I ran up the stairs, something suddenly happened... I heard some sudden sound of something hard hitting the floor... Multiple times.


Clunk! clak! Bunk! Booosh...


Something in me already knew what it was... but I hesitated to turn around.

As I look down the stairs I just went up from, I see my camera laying that, on the cold hard floor.

I went down, saying all kind of swearing "fuck, fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck".

As I picked it up and looked at it, it didn't really look like it was damaged.


A slight hope...


But only for a moment. When I turned it on I could hear all kind of weird noises going on inside but would not open up and the screen just showed all kind of funky colors of green and pink.

It was dead and I was furious. I have never really gotten mad about material things breaking for me... Hell, even when my tent got eaten by a dog I kept my temper. But here I felt angry. It was my first camera and a great one. It helped me documenting all my trips and travels and I could spend a lot of time just playing around with it and the settings.

It made photography fun for me and it was truly one of my real hobbies. And also a perfect hobby as I am so active here on Steemit as a blogger.

After a few moments of denial and self-punishment, I realized that the day I just planned for going out taking photos is no more and worst of all, I suddenly didn't feel like going anywhere. It's funny how a day can turn upside down in a blink of an eye.

One of those days...

image.png

Sort:  

Oh...first I wanted to write about being concerned about materialistic stuff etc. But seems u r aware of it.

But I mean - it comes along with documenting the whole day as you tried. It's a price for it. U post cool posts with many pictures taken with that camera. Get some rewards and interaction and "recognition". Price has to be paid sometimes....soo no nee

OMG OMG haha :D Well I paid price for this comment :D Burned my rice cooker thing as I left it on the pan while writing this :DD

lol yeah. It's first time I had a bad reaction on something material. Really, I'm super minimalistic and never get too attached to stuff. But somehow this camera got under my skin.

R. I. P. your rice cooker haha

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually wondered that it's weird that u got so angry as u seem to be opposite to people being attached to stuff. But yeah I get it, I'd kill everyone around if my computer would crash like that.

And rice cooker is fine I'm just dumb and used the white rice "spoon" for veggies on the pan :D still usable tho

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol! @holm has started a trend of breaking things. Pay it forward.

oh-oh sorry about your camera. You can always buy a new one..
I recommend Nikon D500

Yeah, I guess I had some certain value to that camera sadly! But better start saving up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh man. Sorry about your camera! :/

But damn you are a good storyteller! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha that's something, right? :))

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's terrible! At July the same s...t happened with me when I went out from taxi in airport and someone decided to stole my camera. When he saw that he can't run from me he thought out my bag with my camera and lenses. So to restore their performance cost me nearly 120$.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw man. Sorry to hear that you broke your camera. Well, at least you had a camera to photograph your broken camera with.

It's actually just a picture that was super fitting found on google LOL

Omg dude.. haha. Nice

damnn that hurts !!!
time to get a new one soon to follow up adventures hikes

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.235 which ranks you at #2680 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2682).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sorry for your loss buddy - I am a huge minimalist too and there are actually just two material things that I really care for as I basically make my living through them. It is my laptop and my (smart phone) camera. So yeah, it would be a kind of disaster for me too. Cash out some Steem and get a new one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81