Sales Tip from 200 Social.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"You Can't Sell Anything if You Can't Tell Anything."

by Beth Comstock

200-social-quote09.jpg

Stories are the Best Way to Sell.

People are always telling me how they can't sell. People also always tell me how they would like to be wealthy someday. I will let you in on a little secret, learning how to sell is the easiest path to wealth.

When I started my journey as an entrepreneur it was when I was going door to door as a child selling candy bars. I would literally spend every Saturday hustling chocolate. Later in life I sold cell phones and was ranked #2 for Sprint PCS in the state of Ohio back in 2000. I also sold VW and Mazda's which truly taught me the art of the sale. Then when I moved to Panama I sold precious metals online and did quite well.

My managers always hated my style but they loved my results. I would truly get to know my customers. Being social came easy to me so I would find something in common with the customer and then I would think of a story or scenario that would relate to them.

Yes, my method was time consuming but my closure rate was much higher than the sales people who only talked about the information regarding the product. For me the product was great but I was trying to sell the customer on trusting me. This made the negotiation stage go more smoothly in the end. Instead of a pitched battle of salesperson vs. customer it was more about how we could come to an agreement and still shake hands as friends.

They Teach You that the Sales Process is About the Product.

No, I believe the sales process is about you. Rarely did I have to convince a customer to buy a product based on specs. The majority of customers have already done research and have a clear idea of what they want. It will come down to whether they like you or not.

200 Social

Sort:  

I've been told I was born a salesman. A few of my friends have admitted to me that they hate saying 'no' to me, because in the end, I always convince them that their 'no' is outweighed by my rebuttals.

Being social came easy to me so I would find something in common with the customer and then I would think of a story or scenario that would relate to them.

Precisely. I thought I was the only one that sold like this, tbh. I didn't get a business degree or a fancy college education. I'm just me, connecting with another person with then end goal that we both achieve what we want.

When you have the gift of gab it sure makes life and sales easier.

Voted 'talks most, says least' in HS. I like to think I have added some more substance to my communication as I've grown older.

But I wonder if there's a hidden fear that anyone trying to talk to you or be your friend is just another marketer trying to get their hands on your money.

Sometimes it's troublesome trying to talk to new people in this day-'n-age, because there's always that fear that at the end of the conversation, they hand you their card and you get a dark feeling that real friends don't exist in this world.

Just marketers trying their best to sell something.

Once you've done it, you're already aware that it could happen to you.

Or do you consider business to be a friendly endeavor in the first place? The village carpenter can still get along with the village farmer, right? So why not have that same friendly exchange take place today?

Well, if you wanna ponder this, I'd be happy to know your opinion, @hilarski.

I can count on one hand the amount of people that sell like I do. The people you are talking about are low skilled and really do not give a shit about you. I have made many friends over the years just through a sale encounter and I never made a dime.

Appreciate hard working on any job is appreciated, doesn’t matter what job status is?

Great info about saling i like it. I also agree your all word in this post.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

great tips for sales thanks for info.

I'm totally agree with this "learning how to sell is the easiest path to wealth" but yes it's difficult sell when you think in a long term but you have to do it to have more of the thing you want.

Hello, @Hilarski. In my opinion, you couldn't be more right! Right now I'm starting my own entrepreneurial race by building an eyewear company on a third world country (Venezuela). At the moment we're facing a really hard time with our current leaders, and everyone find impossible to build a fashion business here because of the situation, and actually, in this few months everything has gone quite well because we are not selling Sunglasses, we're selling hope to everyone from this country. And as you say, they're not buying the product, they are buying our history and inspirational ride!

Excellent article! Soon I'll post my first entry on this subject! So, stay tuned!

its the best quote You Can't Sell Anything if You Can't Tell Anything

Its the best quote You
Can't Sell Anything if You
Can't Tell Anything

                 - hassanabid


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

If the product is good enough the word of mouth really helps a lot

If the product is
Good enough the word of mouth
Really helps a lot

                 - blazing


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75