How To Start Your Mindset Journey in 2018

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Happy New Years!

Did your life change for the better or worse last year? Hopefully decided to demolish your goals. If not, we have a second chance.

You are probably still the same since December 31, 2017. The only thing that has really changed is a digit on the calendar. Don’t stress about it.

On a side note, I hope everyone had a great holiday and didn’t get too heated with all the pesky relatives. I know I had to keep my cool!

I was watching my dog play around as the clocked ticked down to 2018. Best of all is how my dog, like all dogs, lives entirely in the moment. We humans have a funny concept of time.

The dog is happy and excited without a worry in the world! It knows exactly what it wants. Why should we treat ourselves any differently. Instead of trying to set lofty goals that you may give up after 2 months, start living in the moment.

You are either sitting down on your computer or reading from a mobile device. You are reading the virtual text on this web page. Take notice of what is around you, the sights, smells. I am currently sitting in my office, surrounded by some lush plants. The air is fresh.

Hopefully, you just decided to check in. That is what we are going to focus on. Checking into 2018 is going to be your biggest advantage against everyone else. They are all stuck behind their screens, televisions, and distractions. You are checked in!

Now that we have decided to be here, we can begin to shift our focus on change. Goals and lofty inspirations are just that. They are intangible. First decide that you are going to take action. What action do you take?

Simple. Trust your instincts.

Gut instinct will tell you what it is that you truly want. In this regard, it’s okay to be selfish. Unfortunately, I can’t read your gut instinct, nor can anybody else! You have to listen to it.

In 2017, I found myself distracted and unbalanced. Parents and “acquaintances” that would nag and whine. Now with the year over, and many lessons learned, I wish I had listened to myself. Not only would I have made way more money, but I would have saved myself frustration and time.

Here is an example:

Me and my dad have a good relationship. He is a good guy, at the end of the day. Unfortunately, he didn’t follow his life dream and purpose, to become a painter. He quit painting to keep his job. My Dad would always try to dissuade my goals. If I wanted to trade, it was a bubble. If I wanted to travel, it was too dangerous. He said I should go back to “school”.

What we have to understand about human nature... is the subconscious. Those who have not followed their dreams will subconsciously want you to make the same mistake. They don’t even realize what they’re doing.

You’ve got to listen to yourself and stop asking for confirmation. See, confirmation is for the good little boys and girls. The problem isn’t being good. The problem is following the rules. Following the rules of everybody else in life will end up with one thing, you being average. Being average and working a 9 to 5 job like everybody else is awful. It is the worst way to go through this existence. Don’t go break the law, but understand that following the “path” that others have laid our for you is usually a road to failure.

We are only given one life... one day we will die. Hopefully when that day comes, you followed your dreams. Maybe you accomplished much and made millions. Maybe you didn’t but still had a blast doing it. The point is you won’t be laying there dying, with regret disturbing your peace. I can’t imagine how horrible that would feel.

I don’t think death is the worst fate to suffer. I think regret is. We have all the time of our lives to accomplish what we see fit. You are improving. You are striving to grow your mental capacity in a way that is rare. Pushing your comfort zone and expanding your consciousness are important and uncommon.

So this year, instead of depressing yourself with the lofty goals you set, change your focus. Focus on the moment, what your gut tells you, and translate that message into action.

Execution is everything. There is a saying that paper plans are as useless as paper airplanes. I would have to agree. Paper plans with no execution are a waste.

2017 was a wake up call. I was disorganized and dazed. I developed some depression and drug issues. Luckily I managed to sort it out. I didn’t fix the problem by going to see a doctor. What truly helped me was quitting what I didn’t like, and deciding to follow my dreams!

images.duckduckgo.com.png

Follow your dreams and decide to be great this year. Read daily, keep a to-do list and stay organized. You won’t regret it, I promise. Keep your mind and body healthy. Keep toxic relationships and energy away.

I guarantee if you can do any these things, you’ll see a marked improvement.

At the community college where I used to go, I saw broken dreams. I saw kids who are literally dragging themselves there every morning, and they hated it. They didn’t even want to be there. They are checked out and are living life like zombies.

Check in, decide what you REALLY want to do in 2018 and make it happen.

Until next time.

-Carson

Sort:  

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content!
Your post was approved by me. As reward it will be resteemed by a resteeming service.
greetbot's stamp of approval

@greetbot evaluated your post's quality score as [50.75] points!
Good Job!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @highermind! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @highermind! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38