Getting my body back

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I used to be fit. In a sense, I guess I still am, considering I had a baby about 4 months ago and people say, "You look great" early on. But I’ll start from the beginning.

I never struggled with weight. Growing up, I didn’t exercise and I didn’t eat terribly either. In high school, I joined the dance team so I wouldn’t have to do PE. Even though I was athletic, good at sports, and competitive (at least I thought so), my mom never signed me up for sports, or it was very short-lived (side note: I did taekwondo, ice skating for hockey, swimming, and ballet, but I advanced so well and quickly that she was afraid I would want to pursue them and not academics, that she would pull me out). Going to college, my exercise was being a part of my hip hop dance team, CADC. We would compete and perform, and have late night practices and hell week.

[during auditions as a returner]

[Me bottom middle]

[Me on the right]

I graduated college, stopped dancing, and lived in South Korea for 7 months. There, I ate, drank, didn’t exercise, and gained some weight. That is the unhealthiest I had ever been: the food, drink, and lifestyle I had. When I returned home, things kind of settled, I dated and married my first/only boyfriend, and had a baby boy.

I remember clearly, the defining moment I decided to change my health and lifestyle. After about 1.5 years post-baby, my husband had bought me a pair of white jeans. I could barely zip it up and I couldn’t button the top. I decided then that I would start exercising, and fit into these pants instead of returning them. About 2-3 months later, after doing pilates from YouTube (blogilates), I fit into the pants!

Before I started exercising on the left, and fitting into the white jean on the right:

Some can’t tell if there’s a difference between the photos, but if you look carefully, there is. I felt healthier; I looked healthier; I was tone; and my lifestyle had changed to taking better care of myself and what I ate.

After about a year of doing pilates, I hurt my wrist, developing a ganglion cyst that hurt every time I extended my wrist.

So planking, push-ups, and even pushing doors to open them hurt. I stopped pilates, and started lifting. Then I started seeing changes in my body….to be continued

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @heyyyheidiii.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Great work so far! Stay motivated and keep working hard

Thanks! It’s hard sometimes, but I’m trying :)

Wow keep it up@heyyyheidiii! Very inspirational I love it! I just upvoted you! Follow me @relsserd. I write about cryptocurrency!

Thanks! Followed back! I’m learning about crypto so your blog will be helpful :)

wow nice ! exercising !
ABS going to be seen soon ^^
have a nice weekend!

Haha thank you! We will see! You have a good weekend too ^^

For newbies like you, here i suggest you to follow @gauravgpt60 and send him small amount of SBD and get resteemed and upvote to get a kickstart on steemit and get more audience and more upvotes.

우왕!! 저도 사진 2개가 차이 안나보이네요!!
어릴때 춤쫌추셨군용!!ㅋㅋ
저는 임신때 다이어트는 생각도 안했는데,
4개월임에도 관리를 하신다니!! 멋쪄유!!

감사합니다~ 힘든데 노력 많이 해볼라고요 ~

Hey girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and you are beautiful.

Hi again! Thank you :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33