SUICIDE OF A LOVED ONE

in #life6 years ago

Rip.jpgI'm sitting here at work today and heard one of my big brothers favorite songs on the elevator radio (.113FM). It instantly brought me to tears and brought back good memories of us just hanging out as kids. It`s such a beautiful song by Scott Simons called Children. I believe it’s been remixed into house music, we personally enjoyed the ambient version a lot more. It’s been 12 years since his passing and I normally do not break down like this especially at work. Luckily it’s just me here today.

My brother committed suicide at age 18. I was only 16 at the time and my 2 other siblings were both six and eleven. They both found him dead in his room that morning of April 13th, 2006. My mind can`t grasp what they had witnessed that day. My heart just broke for all my siblings. Over time I have learned to cope with his absence by channeling my energy into caring for anyone who comes across my path. I try my best to reach out to as many people as I possibly can with simple acts of kindness to remind them that the world is not entirely screwed up.

Now that time has passed I remember my brother by the memories we had and by the many things that he loved like amazing scenery. Every now and then I come across a beautiful picture of natural scenery. I stop and take that moment to reflect on how much this speaks to me. I get lost in the scenery and point it out to anyone along with me. I am sure they might not see it like I do, maybe one day they will. Along with love this is one of many things that keep him alive to me.

Most people will not admit they are suicidal, but if for some reason you suspect it, please get them help! It takes an army to get them in the right path. However sometimes people can be so lost in the darkness that there's no other way out, just remember you can be a light for anyone with simple acts of kindness or directing them to help. There are so many resources out there, so please use them!

Sort:  

Life truly is precious. We must remember to cherish every moment that we have for we never truly know which ones will be our lasts. Your brother lives on through your memories and your kindness that you show to others through what happened. Like the movie Coco taught us, if we remember them and remember how they impacted our lives, they are never truly gone. ;)

Hello @heyyou89 is very sad every time somebody we know dies, its even harder when who decided to end with your own life, sometimes we get so overwhelmed that a little issue seems to be the whole world, sadly that was a decision of your bother, the scenary is very sad with your two other sibblings, i hope the moved on with this, your best gift to your brother is to keep him alive by remmembering him with a beautiful scenary

They have grown into great loving people. Thank for your kind words :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84