Cabin Fever

in #life6 years ago

I wish I could say I was snowed in but no, just a lot of ice. And for a girl with a little red Mustang and a broken down truck, that means no going out at all. Damn, she sure is cute, but she isn't getting anywhere close to out of the driveway in this weather.

A picture of better weather, to keep me going through this long winter:

IMG_0193.JPG

That was when I first got her, before I had the chance to really beat her up. I live on a farm its impossible to keep anything nice for too long. Thats what I get for just needing a convertible. I've been through five cars in five years, the Mustang is number six. I haven't killed her off yet so I can't really say I've "gone through" her.

My second car, but first love, Daisy:

IMG_0657.PNG

Typical first car story, that '88 Jeep was a hunk of junk. But damn did I love her. The seats and seatbelts were rusted right out of the tub, there was no passenger floorboard at all, also due to rust. Now of course, I didn't have a top for it for the longest time, so when it rained...

IMG_0668.jpg

I made it work.

Sure, it wasn't the brand new cars that were rolling into my high school's parking lot every day, but I could do anything I wanted with it and I will have those memories for the rest of my life. But, all good things must come to an end. I drove her a little too hard and off a little cliff, cracking the frame pretty good. Now she's just a big yellow 'quad', no windshield, no roof, all fun.

After that I got a '95, green Jeep Cherokee, which lasted all of four months, I don't even have a picture of it. But then came Henley, my '91 Cherokee, another favorite of mine.

IMG_0660.jpg

I fell in love in that car, but I want to write out that story in another post, I feel like this one is going on too long as it is. If you're still reading, thanks!


My boyfriend works from 3a.m. to 2p.m. so when he gets home he'll just be tired and not want to go out, just like the last few icy days. I guess blogging is all I can really do right now. I've been working at home a little bit, but God forbid my phone dings, because what should be a two-second check turns into a twenty-minute Facebook scroll.

Leave a comment about your first car, I wanna hear some good beater stories!

Sort:  

Nice view :P

Lol, FB scroll?! It should be a Steemit ding from now on. 😉

My husband names all his cars. Our current beauties (or not so much) are Annabelle and Eleanor. One of his first car is named Pumpkin for the 1989 orange corolla. Lol.

Write long stories. Steemians love them. I remember your postcard town intro posts. More of that please. 🙂

Congratulations @helianthus! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @helianthus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52