You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Man With No Ring

in #life6 years ago

I learned from a Turkish friend that they say something like this: capara.
It means: for exchange that nothing worse happens. The explanation is that you need to pay sometimes with something valuable to you, to make sure nothing bad happens to you or your family. Saying “capara”, always makes me feel better if I lose something I liked or valued deeply.

Sort:  

I have never heard that and it gives one comfort.

It really does. It was in a kibbutz 20 years ago, and I lost a earring I got from my mum. The other volunteers helped searching. But when one of them told me this story in the evening, I could forgive myself and I never forgot the words ( though I might say them wrong).

Yes, it does give a bit of comfort! It's so fun to learn new things like that.

I had not heard that. That's such a cool story. Thanks for letting me know. We should be covered for a while now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42