The Stress Free Diet

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm a massive comfort eater. I am not naturally in shape and nor do I find eating a varied and healthy diet that easy! That's why I know how hard it can be and can empathise. I have to work daily to combat the pitfalls of eating and training that we all fall into! Learn more about my journey to becoming a Coach HERE.

Stress is one of my biggest downfalls for triggering comfort eating so. If I'm stressed, I'm eating anything in arms reach. Here's what I do to combat the stress related eating.

The Stress Free Diet

I realised something yesterday. I don't really spend a lot of time or effort making healthy food choices. But I do spend a lot of time reducing stress, keeping things simple and avoiding particularly stressful situations where possible. And that's because I comfort eat.

When I am happy, 'sane', busy (but not too busy) and doing what I love - I eat well. I don't think about what I'm going to eat and I don't feel like I am 'forcing' myself to eat well. Because I am not fighting any negativity or stress - both of which are drive me to eat!

However, when I'm stressed all I want is junk food. The emotional part of my brain is stressed out (from the stress) and stressed out from trying to force myself away from food. It doesn't take long for my willpower to get really tired, and I become to be unable to stop myself eating junk food.

Elephants

screen_shot_2016-08-05_at_3.58.30_pm_article-hero.png

Do you look after your emotional brain?

Here's the metaphor that I use. The emotional part of your brain is like an elephant with a rider on his or her back. The rider is the rational part of your brain.

When there is no stress, no temptation, no problems, the rider and the elephant are free to walk along the path towards their destination is happiness, together. However, when something scares the elephant, or stresses the elephant, the rider must hold the reigns to keep him in control.

When there is tempting elephant food to either side of the path, once again, the rider must control the elephant to keep it moving forward. Combine these two things and suddenly the rider is not only tired from holding the elephant in check against stress and fear and all sorts of other emotions, he's also holding the elephant in check against tempting food.

Eventually the rider will get tired and the elephant will run off, with a helpless rider on top, and will eat lots of tasty junk food.

Remove the Stress

sunrise-phu-quoc-island-ocean (Small).jpg

Find what helps you relax

If you take away the stress and fear, the rider is going to have a lot more energy to guide the elephant towards the healthy choices and away from the junk food! Scare the elephant and the rider is going to stand no chance of stopping it. Focus more on reducing stress and giving your calm and in control brain a fighting chance of making the right choice.

That's how I approach most of my training and food with clients and myself. I make them as stress free as possible, and avoid stress at all costs. If you comfort eat - stop worrying about what you eat and start worrying about what you feel.

Six Week Health Challenge

If you're here you probably know about my Six Week Health Challenge. If you don't, go and check it out HERE. If will help you get healthier AND be in with a chance to win a bunch of Steem :)

Yours in health,
Coach Ben #coachben

@healthsquared #sixweekhealth

Sort:  

It's really interesting to hear about what different people consider "comfort food". I've lived in a few different countries and with some people from different cultures. The range of what they considered comfort food varied pretty widely. Some people craved sugar, while others craved salty/savory. Me, I'm a big fan of fruit.... yes, odd, but I have a sweet tooth and nothing satisfies it like a big bowl of grapes, a dozen clementine oranges, or a pint of berries (love all kinds but blueberries are the best!).

That's really interesting! At least you crave healthy food for comfort :D I think I crave sweet things most

Great post! Stress is really an emotional strain
I'll sure check out your 6 weeks program

Hmm this is really interesting. I am only now paying attention to the effect that the food I eat has on my emotions and particularly stress! I will be checking out your 6 week plan.Thanks for sharing and STEEM ON!!

It's great that you're paying more attention to the foods you eat and how they effect your mood, and visa verca! Thank you for the comment @t8scones :)

Stress is : The physical, mental, emotional and behavioral reactions that the individual gives when he feels uneasy or under pressure are the whole.

Great read. I could definitely stand to de-stress my life, and this is a great reminder.

It can be a really hard thing to do. Recently I've been writing down the one or two tasks I HAVE to do each day, and scheduling in a time to do that. As long as I've done those 'deal breakers' I feel really accomplished and less stressed to do the rest of my work :D Good luck with the de-stress

Stress is just a response to a certain stimuli. If you change the response then there's little to no stress within you. So it's just a matter of choice.

Mindset is definitely important for stress. Many people stress about things that really don't need to be stressed over!

Excellent post @healthsquared, there was a time that I felt that way, when I got stressed!

Thank you @taty17, how have you managed to reduce the desire to comfort eat when stress? I'd love to know what strategies other people use!

Makes a lot of sense. Good read!

Thank you @terezakumric. Great to have you on Steemit :)

Good post. In my case, I feel guilty after eating a lot of junk foods.

Yes! Sometimes we eat junk food, feel bad about it, and then eat more junk food because we feel bad! It's a hard cycle to break

By the way how are you going to judge the entries for the sixweekhealth challenge. I'm just curious to know. That's all.

Hey @amarbir, they are judged on quality, content, time to create them and creativity. A post with step by step instructions with your own photos and discussion of why the recipe is healthy will do much better than a recipe with a stock photo and only a few instructions :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31