You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention TV & Movie Producers: Please Stop Re-Writing Male Parts for Women

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Overall, I agree with you except in two instances.

Missy is awesome. The character change works and is true to the Master character. Whether or not she's female doesn't matter, it's how well she oozes the frenemy vibe. Best. Master. Ever.

I'm not entirely for sure that the 13th female Doctor is the Doctor proper. My bet is that it's actually Jenny, his lost clone daughter, who will stand in the same way that Dick Grayson stood in as Batman for a bit. If you notice in the reveal, the Tardis gives her t's key. If she was the Doctor proper, then she'd already have it.

If it is Jenny, then it's very much a Dick Grayson as Batman kind of thing. Where an established, original character, is only holding the title. I'm cool with that.

Sort:  

I kept hoping Missy would turn out to be The Rani....an awesome female Time Lord villain from the 1980's. I just didn't see the reason for making the Master a woman when we already had a terrific established female Time Lord baddie.

I liked John Simm's Master best. ;)

I would of liked John Simm's Master the best before Missy. I curious to see where the team-up goes. Has there ever been a "two-masters" episode before?

Was The Rani frenemy to the Doctor?

Yes, she was. She and The Master and The Doctor were all at the Time Lord academy together. She went rogue as a scientist, because she wanted to do experiments the Time Lords didn't sanction, rather than being purely psychopathic like The Master. She and the Doctor always tried to get on the same page when they met, but she didn't like anyone standing in the way of her morally questionable scientific research.

She was actually indirectly responsible for Doctor 6 regenerating into Doctor 7.

The season finale this year was the firs TV "two Masters" episode, though they did an audio-only one on the Big Finish CD stories.

Ok, I can absolutely see your point now. That would have been very interesting. Thanks for explaining it to me

My pleasure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 69527.07
ETH 2514.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55