4 Steps To Exit Your 9-5 Job

in #life7 years ago

Here's a game plan to get out. What beliefs do you hold without question?
Why do you work so hard for so little in return? What are your other options?

I'm on a journey to exit the system. I'm sharing my thoughts along the way.
Come along. Ask some questions. Imagine what life could be like...

Cheers.

Sort:  

Agreed! The sooner we can all get out of the 9 - 5 that ties us down to the system, the better. And I love the term "fear setting" I've never heard of this before, but it sounds very practical. Then using that in tandem with laying out a plan, I think these steps could really work in practice. Great advice! Steem on :)

Thanks for your comment. I just started with the fear setting and it has been such a great tool. It helps me break down my emotions into facts a little bit better so I can analyze.

Have a great day. Thank you for watching. I really appreciate it.

That makes so much sense. I can definitely see how it would help turn one's emotional response into an objective one. You're welcome! Hope you have a great day as well :)

thanks for sharing this video with us.keep sharing inspirational and regenerative stuff.

Thank you for watching. Your support inspires me.

My Pleasure buddy. Have a good day

Thanks for the inspiration & motivation! Your suggestion of "fear-setting" is a great idea. It is vague fears that often keep us stuck. By actually voicing & facing those fears, you give yourself the opportunity to observe how silly or unrealistic they truly are.

True. Sometimes I'm surprised by how little my fears are based in reality.
It's like when we shine a light on darkness, it isn't so scary any more.
Thanks for you comment. I appreciate it.

Hy@happyhoneymoon Like your Post Followed You
wish you the same @funnystuff
"Someday I will give back what you have given me. Thank You."

Great quote. Thank you.

Hey @happymoneyman. Hope you are doing well. I have looked at some of your content and I really like it. See you have a good handle and view on money and personal growth.

I am running a project to help users with good content and personalities. You fit the bill, but your voting power is running extremely low. Are you aware of how voting power works? Why I am asking, I would like to send you a personal invite to my project. Let me know if you are interested. So far we have had some great results. Let me know on steemit.chat or discord. @scrooger =)

Thank you the note.
I would love to chat. I will find you on steemit.chat and get some of your thoughts.

I have a general grasp on voting power, but I'm not fully schooled on the game theory behind it. I really interested to learn.

I will talk with you soon. Cheers.

Great thanks for sharing

Smiling. Thank you.

Great video, I love your positive energy. I've always questioned and felt bitter about having to work so hard so someone else could make money off of my labour, but it took me a long time to start to extricate myself from that mindset. I love the "fear setting" part...it's amazing how much fear paralyses us. The stability part of the 9-5 is a myth anyway, so many companies have no loyalty to employees that have been with them sometimes for decades. Time to spread the wings!

Thanks so much for your thoughts.

Great point, "The stability part of the 9-5 is a myth."
I like this because it makes me think we are still living in a 1950's mindset.
Our grandparents could go get a job for big auto and work in a factory until they retired. They would be treated with loyalty and the company would take care of them long term. This is an old model. That same company today would throw them out the year before they reach their pension to save money.

It's not a big knock on the system it is just a realization that we are applying old beliefs to our modern realities.

Absolutely, I was discussing this with a friend the other day. She was talking about how her dad was 30 years in the same job and he absolutely loved it because they supported him throughout his family life. Then he was made redundant, and has never been able to find a company that treats him as well again. Same thing happened with my dad. It's a terrible shame that money has become the only bottom line for these big companies, but it really does make making your own money a much more appealing and viable option!

Good examples.
I think how we think about money is the first step. When we don't center all our work decisions around money it changes the landscape. I like to think of money as energy. I need it to survive. I add to my energy and give my energy for certain things. This helps me conceptualize how I want and need to spend my time.

Thanks for your thoughts. Cheers.

Congratulations for this video, and your courage is something that deserves respect.

I decided to become a freelancer and avoid 9 to 5 jobs at any cost before getting out of high school, because I realized back then that going to a job you hate just to make some money and survive, for the rest of your life, is not worth, and I'd rather do something completely different.

Once again, congratulations for your video and for your courage, keep up the good work!

Thanks @raikuhen.
What is the biggest mistake you see new people make transitioning into freelancing?

I think there are two main mistakes almost everyone makes that I did too when I first started:

  1. People don't realize that just because you're not on a 9 to 5 job that doesn't mean you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. Most would argue that making money online is way harder than making money on a 9 to 5 job. That means you need a schedule, a plan, and you need to put in a lot of work. I personally had to force myself to wake up every day at 8 in the morning and work for more than 10 hours a day, because building a sustainable income online takes more time than just going to a normal job. Once you get there everything gets easy, but until then, you need to work a lot.

  2. A lot of people expect to make money online really fast, just because it's "the internet", and a huge percentage of those people give up. There is not a special place online where there is a certain amount of money that is given to people who do stuff. The money you receive as a freelancer are from the people who appreciate your work. You want money, you need to work hard. If you would not sell a crappy product in real life expecting someone to actually buy it, you shouldn't do it online either. Money comes hard. You need products, you need a reputation, and you need to work a lot. Sadly, a lot of people are not aware of this and they just give up before they make anything.

Thank you for the reply! :)

What a fantastic reply. Thank you so much for passing on some knowledge. There are some real gems in here.

One idea really hit home. I wouldn't try to sell a piece of junk on a store shelf, so why would I provide an online product that isn't stellar. Things don't just sell because it is online. It takes more hard work than a 9-5.

I really appreciate that you gave your time to write this. Thank you.

Nice vlog. Good luck to your journey. :)

Thanks for your well wishes. Same to you. Cheers.

Another great message ..thanks! Are those beehives in the background?
ps. Love Arroyo Seco..I used to live in Carmel Valley, we'd go swimming out there sometimes. Bet it was hot! :)

Yes @scalerman, those are bee hives. I have 4 hives. They are going crazy on the blackberries right now.

Arroyo Seco is great. Yes, it was cooking hot, but it makes it lovely to jump in the water and walk the gorge. I will try to post some pics up here for you to see.

Cheers.

Cool..love the gorge. Had some good times there. That's so great that you have hives! The more bee's the better I say. I've read the bee venom can help certain illness's like mine. Some people get 15-20 stings in a day which is more than I could handle for sure, but it helps somehow. Do you sell the honey? Ive considered trying a hive. I'm on 5 acres in happy Valley area so I have the room, but I'm certain I can no longer do the work required. :(

I've heard bee venom can be good for you too. I've never looked into it, though I have been stung a few times. The most I've gotten stung in one outing is 5 times. Haha, it just itched really bad later, but not too painful.

I actually have a cool way to do bees. I met a guy at a local farmers market. He was actually looking for people with land to keep his bees on. He has a big area of land. He takes his hives and drops them around the San Lorenzo Valley. He maintains them and then takes the honey at the end of the year. He always texts me before he comes so I can go meet him and help tend the hive. At the end of the year I get about 5 gallons of honey for myself and I help spin it out.

I'm just learning about the bees and taking care of them. This is my second year. I don't sell the honey, but RK Bees sells the honey and wax candles at local farmer's markets.

Cheers. Have a great day today @scalerman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68423.64
ETH 2659.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71