You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bird of Prey Versus The Window Incident

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Poor thing looks like it has banding on the tail. And with that white stripe over the eye, I think it 's a Merlin. Because it's brown, I think it's a female Merlin. They were called "chicken hawks" back in the day, so @jacobtothe is right. The Kestrel is the Sparrow Hawk. The Merlin is one size bigger -- the chicken hawk. They are a little falcon, related to the Peregrines. Nice work in getting in back on the road -- or in the sky, I guess, lol.

Sort:  

I agree with you and @jacobtothe. After perusing a bird of prey field guide, it does appear to be a female Merlin, and considering how many chickens that I had wandering around the farm at that time, her presence shouldn't have been that much of a shock at all! I was just glad that it was okay, and that I was able to save it from "the circle of life" via farm cat digestion, lol!

The "circle of life" is not always pretty! Glad you were able to save that Merlin. But watch out for your chickens, too, now! ;O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43