Lessons I Learned from My First Day at C2E2 (The Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo)

in #life7 years ago

I made it through my first day at C2E2 (The Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo).


DSC04534.JPG
One of the eight T-shirts I purchased yesterday.

I learned a few things.

  • This is not the smaller alternative to Comic Con that it was 7 years ago. It was absolutely packed yesterday. Although I never felt like a little kid would be unsafe at yesterday's event, I did find myself getting frustrated with the wall to wall people and inability to move. But then I would see someone dressed like "Beefsquatch" from Bob's Burgers and I'd laugh and regain my patience.


DSC04471.JPG
THIS IS ME NOW

  • I am willing to spend a ridiculous amount of money on T-shirts. I didn't buy any toys or comics yesterday... but I did buy more shirts than anyone needs.


DSC04532.JPG


DSC04533.JPG


DSC04531.JPG

  • I am so old. No I mean really old. And I don't mean compared to the teenagers running around dressed like Dragon Ball Z characters. I mean old as in my legs are killing me. My feet are still numb. I actually iced my knees last night when I got home (not kidding) and for the first time in my life... my hips hurt! Yes. My freaking hips. This morning I was trying to stretch them out (or something) and was making a motion like I was hula-hooping. My wife pointed out that my "hips don't lie".

To which I asked, "What are they saying?"

She responded, "That you are really old."



Now I'm off for day two! (This time I'm even bringing the kids.)

For once all of the photos were taken by me.



DSC04367.JPGBonus Batgirl because... why not?

Sort:  

The Older you get, the less time you have left, Go for it, show those youngsters up ! Says the man getting Arthritis in his finger joints,(very hard to ignore).

I outlasted my kids today. They were ready to go home at 1:00... but we pressed on until 3:00. They thanked me in the end../ at least that is the way I'm telling the story.

Take care of those hands. that is tough. Very hard to rest them. I hope there is something that can alleviate the pain.

I. AM. JEALOUS.

This looks like fun.

It really is a good time. I know you are a Star Wars fan too. I hope you have a chance to attend something like this at some point.

I feel the same way after walking the entire vendors mart at #dragoncon. It's the only thing I get done that day then its back to the hotel for a nap!

Is that the one in Atlanta? I have seen some awesome pics from that one. I have never been.

Yes it is! It's held every year around Labor Day. Over 50k people show up... and I think they are actually over 60k people every year now. Stan Lee is leading the parade this year... come on down!

Yeah he was there this weekend. I heard this is his farewell tour. He won't be doing shows any more after this year. It is tempting. It looks awesome!

You should come on down! #dragoncon is a blast.

Looks like you're having fun :D Just make sure not to have too much fun. You know what your hips are saying ;)

I know. I kept telling my hips to shut up today... until someone called security.

Good to see you supporting the Chinese sweat shops

Yeah one day I vowed not to wear anything made in a sweatshop. I showed up to work and they called the police. Apparently showing up to work naked is a crime now.

Seriously it sucks that it is so prevalent that I can't even properly boycott. I love to "vote with my dollar" but it seems there is no other candidate.

"hips don't lie"
LOL :)

They sure don't! And apparently they don't quite work the same way they used to either.

That Bonus Batgirl bring back my faith into comics ;)

You're welcome. LOL

There were a ton of cool costumes. I am going to try and put something together with all my pictures in the next couple of days.

The legend and dedication levels of your inner nerd are truly epic and growing LOL.

I have such an appreciation for you man, the way you go about your life. Great photos... hey now Batgirl lol

Solid way to end this post of yours, have a lot of fun.

I can relate a lot now to pain daily, with the stuff you are feeling. I am thinking of you man

Yes. I have definitely gone full blown nerd!

Man I was joking about mine. I know your pain is some serious stuff. I would never make light of that. I really hope it becomes manageable for you.

I got a smile out of it, TBH.

It is funny in a way, things I would never think would bother me now, bother me or trigger me with the PTSD I guess.

I like having things in common with you man, I just kinda wish it was not physical pain stuff.

I am looking forward to your next post, as always.

And thank you.

You need to take good care of that bones/ body!! It's not an exclusive problem of "older ones" ;)

Well after today, those bones have turned to dust. So I will take care of them by putting them in a nice urn above the fireplace.

Ahah, that can't be that bad!! It seems you had a tough day...nothing that a good night of sleep won't​ solve! :)

And a little wine lol.

It was really fun. I just like to joke about myself. Also fun.

A glass or two of wine would definitely help!! Agreed!! :) Hope you're better now after some rest.

We have a portuguese saying that I always keep in mind when doing something like you did: "Quem corre por gosto não cansa", that can be literally translated in "Who runs for pleasure never gets tired" or "A burden which one chooses is not felt". It's used for people who work (or something else) without ever getting tired because they like what they do!

This looks like fun, man! Love the tshirts! I need to start creating tshirts...hmmm...

Yeah you do! They would be awesome. I think the company teeturtle may actually work with independent artists. Your stuff would sell well at these types of conventions.

Oooo a new website! I'll check it out!

I'll check them out! I was recently accepted into Amazon Merch as well, so I will be looking into all of these services as soon as life gives me a moment. Haha

You're a talented guy. Any of those places would be lucky to have you as a contributor.

Oh stop it. Who's paying you to say these things?!
Whoever it is, tell them thanks. ;)

Dude I'm just angling for some free shirts when you hit it big. I'm clearly addicted. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36