Have You Ever Unexpectedly Fallen in Love with an Opening Act?

in #life7 years ago

At the end of last summer I attended the greatest show I have ever experienced.



From right to left they are screaming Han! Shot! First!

I traveled to Washington D.C. to see The Prophets of Rage.

I still can't believe they exist and that I was lucky enough to get floor tickets to see them. To quote their website, "Prophets Of Rage combines the sonic firepower of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill."

Specifically it features Tom Morello, Chuck D, and B-Real respectively.

Yes. Yes!! Yes!!!

For me, it was simply the most perfect combination of music possible. It was as if someone sat in an office and thought, "What would that geeky guy hanshotfirst really love to see. No I mean REALLY love." Then they can up with this (it was probably the same team who decided to reference Gymkata in a kids movie).

Needless to say, I couldn't wait for their performance to begin. Unfortunately, I had to endure two opening acts... or so I thought.

I don't even remember the first band. They were loud and screamed a lot. It was fine but my buddy and I used their performance as an excuse to hang out and have a few drinks on the concourse.

Even though we weren't expecting much from the second band either, we deiced to head in to at least be polite to them.



It turned out to be AWOLNATION and they were awesome!

I have a radio so of course I had heard some of their songs starting back in 2011. I typically didn't hit the button when their songs played... but I never paid very close attention.

As they began to perform live, I grew more and more interested. I was especially impressed by the band's use of technology in their performance. It included a DJ who was quite animated while he hit his buttons. The lead singer, Aron Bruno, used a ton of cool audio effects to alter his voice not only from song to song, but also several times during a song. It was really amazing.

As they continued playing, I began to realize that I had heard at least half a dozen of their songs before... and I liked them. Experiencing them live made me love them. There is just something about live music. When a band can sound as good (or better) live as they do on the radio, they earn a tremendous amount of respect.



AWOLNATION relies heavily on technology but still brings a ton of human energy.

After the show I downloaded their albums and watched all of their videos (many of which are really funny). But they simply don't compare to seeing them do their thing live.

This morning, I checked again to see if they are currently playing any shows, but I keep striking out... unless someone wants to let me stay with them in Houston in a couple of weeks. (Kidding... stupid work!)

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

What opening act did you unexpectedly fall in love with?

Here is AWOLNATION's biggest hit.

Image Links 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Holy hell! That song is catchy!
That main act sounds crazy, I'll have to look them up.

Several of their videos are really funny.

Upvoted for giving me something to listen to this weekend. 🤙

What kind of music are you into? My favorite is Industrial. But I also like rap/rock combinations, old techno with words, punk and things like that. AWOLNATION kind of snuck up on me. The guy has a punk background but really seems to like messing around with technology in his creations. It brought a lot of those pieces together for me (and most are clean enough to listen to in the car if my kids are there).

I find there are great artists and music in every genre, but if I had to chose favorites it would probably be blues and heavy metal.

I used to be into metal in high school but have moved away from it a bit. I think Industrial kind of took its place for me. Blues was never my thing but I truly respect it as the incredible art form it is.

I upped because of the title and now I am carefully reading . I fall in love with great music all the time. There are a few supporting acts I saw who deserve the big oh yes! I worked as a tour manager and boy its hard to count them all.

That sounds like a cool (but stressful) job!

it was an awesome job but no more. I am tired after 35 years dealing with egocentric babies like JB :) I need to look for one of my old articles for you.

@hanshotfirst, eric johnson opened for joe satriani in fresno way back when, and eric johnson was a much better performer. People are going to kill me now! Awesome sounds my friend.

I get it 100%. Satriani is one of the greatest guitarists ever and saying Eric Johnson was better live does not take anything away from that. Still both great I'm sure and sounds like an amazing show!

I saw PE/Beasties/RUN DMC in the 80's on the Together Forever tour, I challenge anyone who would call any one of them the opening act that nite LOL!

I am so jealous. That sounds like the perfect show!

BDP was really good around that time in my life -- Boogie Down Productions -- no doubt you know of them too, I am sure. Big Daddy Kane .... Eric B and Rakim..... ahhh memories.

Did you see the rap video I was in with friends a few years back I shared on comments one day with Papa and Meesterboom by chance?

A bunch of my friends have dropped albums.

Hello my friend. I have not been commenting on here or posting or checking until today really. I did notice your kind words and donation to me the other day on my sort of every other day check in. I needed to stick to my guns.

So I wanted to say thanks very much for stopping in the other day knowing I would not be on much and for your kindness. Like in one of my last posts before I went on #SteemitStrike... you are a good man.

Thank you very much. Stay strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25