Being Overshadowed by My Son's Hero Made Me Feel... Lucky

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Earlier this week, my son's school band held one of their two performances of the year. Because I had a conference on the same night, I originally thought I would not be able to attend. I told my son about the situation. He was very understanding ... but I still felt bad. A few days before the performance I decided to ask my boss If I could leave the conference early in order to attend the show. He agreed. I was very excited to inform Timmy that I would be at his show. I assured him that although I would be a little late, I would only miss the opening act. He was happy but did not really make a big deal about it.



Parks and Recreation from Deedle-Dee Productions and UMS

I arrived in time to see my son and his friends take the stage. As the stage lights shined into my son's eyes, he attempted to shield them with his hand. In this position, he looked as if he were saluting everyone in attendance. With the glare partially blocked, he eagerly scanned the audience in search of one particular person who had promised to attend his performance.

Naturally, when I saw Timmy scanning the crowd, I assumed he was searching for me. As he turned his head in my direction, I wildly waved my arms so he could see that I had arrived on time for his performance. He saw me, smiled, and continued to his search. Timmy wasn't looking for me at all. My son was looking for Dan, the musician who provided my son with private French horn lessons every week.

A few weeks earlier, Dan had asked my son when and where his performance would be held. I figured that Dan was just being nice and wouldn't really be attending the show. But sure enough, after my son saluted the crowd for another few minutes, he saw Dan standing on the side of the auditorium. Timmy's face lit up as he enthusiastically waved at Dan. Dan tipped his hat to my son and the show began.



Image Credit

After seeing this interaction I thought, "What the heck? I went to all of this trouble to get here and he's more excited to see a guy he sees for 30 minutes per week?"

Then I had another thought, "I am incredibly lucky".

First, I am lucky because my attendance at these events has become second nature. It really isn't special when I attend... because I always attend. I don't miss any of my son's events. I can't remember ever missing one of his baseball or soccer games. I have proudly watched every one of his band and school choir performances. Not everyone is able to be at all of their children's events. Some people need to work multiple jobs in order to provide for their family. Many parents have to travel, work long hours or odd shifts. But not me. I am blessed and I know it.

I continued to ponder the situation. As I reflected on the fact that this man had taken time out of his day to come and see my son perform, I again felt lucky. He had made my son feel special and valued. Kids need to be reminded of their value as often as possible. It's not important who made my son feel special that night, it's only important that he felt it.

As my son and his band mates played "La Rejouissance", my mind wandered to thoughts of all of the other people in my son's life who have helped boost his self esteem. I pictured all of the great teachers and coaches my son has known over the years. Each of these people has played a very important role in making my son the happy kid he is. I tried to think of a way I could repay these influential people for what they have done for my son. Before I could think of one, the song ended and I snapped back to reality. I joined the audience in their applause as the children took their bows. As I peered to my left, I noticed one man applauding louder than everyone else... it was Dan.

Thank you Dan. You made my son's night.



Shia LaBeouf by Rob Cantor and zmyaro

Sort:  

Sounds like your son has one heck of an instructor. That's someone that truly cares about his students. Combine that with one bad-ass dad and your son is a lucky kid ill tell ya.

I have been really lucky that my kids have had amazing teachers and coaches. They always like to listen to other people more than their parents...

Really nice, heart-warming story. "Thank you Dan" should get more votes on Steemit!

Thanks! It was fun to write. Dan had to leave after my son performed so they didn't get to talk. I can't wait for my son to get to thank him for showing up. The guy is a class act! Seems there are a few Dan's around here that need to be thanked...

Thanks for sharing. We could all use a "Dan".

I agree! My son might not fully appreciate it now, but hopefully one day, he will look back and realize how many "Dans" he has had in his life... then I hope he goes out and becomes a "Dan" for someone else.

This is a really great story. Super getting my vote. What a great dad, and what a great music teacher. Hands off to him being there. That is pretty cool.

Thanks! It was really cool of Dan to show up. I'm pretty sure my son would have been fine if he didn't but boy was he searching for him. Dan is going to be getting a very nice Christmas gift this year!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67