My 2018 Resolutions

in #life6 years ago

My 2018 Resolutions

I've been watching way too many YouTube videos over the past week or so. (Hence my last post about YouTube drama) I've been pretty sick for almost two weeks now and it's putting a bit of a damper into my New Year’s resolution to start my year off to a good start.
I’m starting my last semester of college, I’m looking forward to graduating and moving on to the next chapter of my life or the “real world.” Maybe I’m naive, but I have some time to figure some stuff out.

IMG_7679.JPG

I realize the position I'm in now is the most relaxed and responsibility-free that my life will ever be. My family helps me with rent, and I have loans for my tuition. So I will eventually pay back my loans myself as well as my own bills, but as of now I don’t have to pay any bills. I am very fortunate that it is that way.

Acknowledging this, I wanted to make my last semester the most focused and productive semester yet. From my time watching way too much YouTube, I have watched so many “morning routine” or “day in my life” videos of very pretty women showing the internet how productive their days are with fabulous editing skills. Needless to say, I’m a fan. I aspire to have a routine, to feel productive in a day simply by following my schedule and waking up at the right time and eating a good breakfast.

Here’s a good example of a typical morning routine video. Complete with uplifting music, positivity, and a voice over. I eat this stuff up.


Or this one!

I always tell myself that I want to have a routine like this, where I stick to it and do something positive in the morning that starts my day off right! In 2018 and when I have a busy schedule and life I want to incorporate this! If I have good habits now, it will transfer over to when I am a “real” adult and start my career.

Here’s a list of my resolutions:

  • Be busy! I’ll be doing at least 15-20 hours a week working on campus and 15 credit hours! I should be able to meet this goal.

  • Stay organized

  • Be intentional. I've seen this word used a lot in positivity videos, and for me, it's more than just a buzzword. This word is a good way of breaking some bad habits that I have like spending hours on the internet, procrastinating, not eating the right foods etc. If I’m intentional on breaking the habit, it will be easier to replace bad habits with good ones.

  • Try meditation in the morning. In many of the videos I watch this looks like a good way to get yourself into a good mindset for the day.

  • Write down 3 things I’m grateful for everyday.

  • Meal prep my lunches for 3 days out of the week (for my busiest days)

  • Pay less for on campus parking (walk!)

  • Keep myself healthy! (No more sickness!) My mom recently told me that she hasn't been majorly ill since I was 15 months old! She's doing something right.

  • Go to the gym at least 3 times a week! I always have an issue going to the gym during the school year because of how much of a hassle it is! You have to pay for parking on campus until 4 pm and the parking lot is far from the gym.. It's just a pain for someone who is already not motivated.. But I'm planning on finding a way to make it easier!

  • Wake up earlier and not rush!

  • Work on my friendships and plan more time to hang out. I’ve been a little bit in hermit mode in my last year of school and I want to change that!

  • Go out and do stuff on weekends!

Resolutions from 2017 that I have kept:

  • Making bed every day

  • Keeping a planner during school

  • Drink 2 liters of water a day

  • Cut back scrolling mindlessly on my phone. I have an app that tracks how much time I spend on my phone called Moment. It has helped a lot!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hannahrrr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59