Thank God I am not a Country Boy Anymore!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I used to listen to John Denver's county song titled "Thank God I am a Country Boy" as a red neck country boy in Nebraska.  

I hated this song because I was sweating in the summer heat baleing hay like this photo  shows.  I was on the wagon behind this baler physically having to stack the heavy bales and unload into the barn buildings all day long.  

My adopted dad in this photo actually was driving the tractor 3 years ago and I was helping him for the last time before he passed December 25, 2015.  I still did not like to bale hay but, I was just helping him out.

When I see this photo, it brings back the bad memory when I had to sweat my butt off for 10 years on the ranch farm where all I did was work and work, it seemed.

Also, almost got ran over by the wagon when I fell over in the front of the wagon when I lost my footing.  Luckily, my dad saw me fall down in front the wheel and he stopped abruptly in time. Hard to keep balance on the wagon surface since the wagon is moving and moving up and down when the tires hit the ground hog holes.

My adopted folks believed that the hard work was the best for me and as a child I hated hearing this.  

Well, as a grown up man, I thank God I am not a country boy anymore.

Sort:  

Wow, I used to go to my Uncles farm every summer to milk the cows, feed the horses, pigs and chickens. Then I used to help him bale hay too. I was the one stacking the bales on the back of the wagon. lol, they are fond memories for me and as I was a tomboy back then. I still love going back to my roots. I took great pics this weekend on a visit to the old homestead. I will be posting them soon. Just a country girl at heart but living the city life now.

I guess I was just over-worked. I only went back to visit the Nebraska farm one time in 30 years since left the farm.

I imagine it it not quite as fun when you have to do it all the time. I got to enjoy the summers doing it with my families farms. Still love to visit them 50 + years later. Still in the genes. lol

Really! Screw hard work!

Yes, agree. work smart using my brain now forex trading, Steemit, Ebay business and Cryptocurrience learning next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90