You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remembering How to Read: A Few Tips

in #life7 years ago

This article caught my eye because I don't think that that could EVER happen to me. I think I am on the opposite side of this coin because I live in a third world country that has such unreliable electric and internet service that I CANNOT be connected to technology all the time. I usually am cursing about this but now I can see that it is actually a blessing! Because I am so often without internet service, I end up reading about 3 books a week.

I usually read while I'm eating breakfast or before bed. Your idea to read books that have been made into movies is great because down here we don't get the same volume or variety of movies. And usually they are just available to watch on the computer which isn't the same experience as going to a theater. My preference is to read the book before seeing the movie, and I think the book version is usually better.

Actually, now that I think more about it, I probably read so much because I enjoy reading. I think a lot of people have a negative association with reading because they were forced to do at school. So even if people didn't have all the gadgets to distract them, they would still look for any other activity to do besides reading.

Maybe an idea is to make a special area just for reading. A place that is comfortable, quiet and visually appealing so that it has a good association and feeling to it. This is what I have done in my house and I love to spend some peaceful moments there lost in reading a book that makes me forget where I am.

So my tip to those who are really serious about unplugging and regaining a sharper mind is this... MOVE TO A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY!

If that idea is too drastic, then try to create a special place in your home where you can escape for a little while and take a mental vacation

Sort:  

I lived in Vietnam for 5 years and saw them addicted to phones, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76