You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's wrong with our cucumber plant?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for thinking of me 😉, happy to help you anytime @libertyteeth!

Ok, so it appears that we have an issue that could be bacterial or viral. No worries, we can fix that (no matter what anybody says) - the plant looks to be overall pretty healthy.

When foliage is close to the soil and it rains - it splashes contaminants from the soil up onto the leaves. It is a common issue and one that I experience often with Cucurbit leaves. Pests also spread disease in our garden - I use Neem Oil, an organic and ancient natural pesticide that comes from the Neem tree/seeds. It is truly the gardener's best friend!

How to Fix It:
• Remove any unhealthy leaves from the plant - using a clean/sterile cutting tool is important, of course.
• When handling the debris/removed plant matter - be sure to dispose of the unhealthy plant matter in the trash - never compost it or let it remain in your growing area.
• You should use a different cutting tool or re-sterilize the one used to remove unhealthy leaves to remove any leaf that is touching or near soil. You can also consider some mulch around the drip-edge of the plant - this will aid in keeping the soil from splashing up during hard rain & retains moisture (less watering).

Pruning a plant until it looks healthy, generally does promote good health. If it has parts that look unhealthy, but is not entirely trashed - it's got a great chance of survival still. I never give up until it's over! 😋

As I mentioned in your other post on your tomato plants - I swear by Seaweed and Kelp extract - 60 minerals, micro nutrients, amino acids - I have brought plants back that looked like the Grim Reaper himself had grown them. You will be amazed at how micronutrients and carbohydrates can enhance a plants vigor in a very short time.

Here is a resource that I frequently use, compliments of Cornell University, Vegetable MD Online. It is like WebMD, but for plants! How awesome is that?!

I have an arsenal of free resources that I use, including this one from Clemson University, Clemson Cooperative Extension. (I linked this one right to Cucurbit section, eliminate the scavenger hunt for you!).If you have any further questions on anything I've mentioned or if I can elaborate on anything - please don't hesitate to ask! If your readers have any questions or comments, let's chat!

Sort:  

And re-read your post, and just bought some seaweed extract as well! :) Thanks again!

Awesome, thanks! Just bought some neem oil and castille soap (which I will grate; it helps combine the oil and water). I'll go out and prune the bad-looking leaves shortly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74