Happy

in #life6 years ago

All our life has always been on about chasing our dreams, getting good job, and whatnot. Our parents and society has always assume that getting good grades equal to getting good job, and will lead to happy life. But we(society) failed to realized that it is not the case anymore. We spend too little time to those that matters, thinking that the more we try to impress people with our big title and posh car and house will make we happy, instead I think that it make us distant and it could lead to depression if it didn't turn out as we expected.

Why is it that when we younger it is easier for us to be happy? It is definitely much happier when we younger. Not that I am saying that we shouldn't work hard for our life, I am just saying that sometimes we really need to check on our priority meter. I will from now on do whatever that make me happy, I am so tired living on such a life where we try to impress people. To what extent?

As we grow older our circle of friends will get smaller and smaller and it hurts to see that those whom you were so close with just doesn't seem to bother anymore. What worse is that you still miss them and wishing that everything could be like the old times again :/

I can't help but notice that I've rarely mention the word "happy" to my friends, it is cute how my friend tell me that me being happy(or using that word) is like fairies; it is few and delicate. They're not wrong because all my life I've always feel depressed and full of pessimistic moment. I thank them who helped me see the better side of the world, and it always funny to see how sanguine they(D) are.

happy.001.jpeg
image courtesy of google

Sort:  

great point raised in the article. First I think there are fundamental differences between generations. The previous generation, before the tech boom had to rely on physical interaction and limit themselves to a set of close friends. They had limited information sources and lesser options to try and succeed. I think that generation generally had more clarity in life and developed to be more content and patient.

Ours is a generation that seeks validation on social media, through likes, views and upvotes. Technology has made access to information easy, and with more information comes more choices and often confusion. We generally are more privileged that the previous generation, and less able to handle failures. We do not feel the need to work under someone and want to be like the millionaire entrepreneur, about whom we read plenty of stories on social media. Also the mobile today is now an extension of our human body. Relationships are virtual, friendship is virtual and the ability to talk face to face has been replaced by anonymous confidence of trolling.

I worry about the future generation. Hope they will use technology as a tool and not make it their life.

I kinda can relate to your explanation, it's sad to see how friendship and whatnot has changed due to technology, people really like to take this for granted. Like, they think there’s still much time. Life is short and fragile we really should do what we love and spend time with those whom matter.

Happiness shouldn't be compromised. Unfortunately, sometimes, we have things thrust at us by life that happiness doesn't matter anymore, and we rather choose to survive than to be happy.

that is the problem with our society right now, they try to impress people that doesn't even matter to them

Great Post, @grimjaw
Also checkout my posts at @kartik2085 I have similar content

we must practice what we preach so to say thousands of times "HAPPY"

I’m happy I’m happy I’m happy... 😂😂 be happy too!

My parents assume the same. The sad thing is, I didn't get enough good grades so here I am in crypto world. I'm not sure if that's a curse or blessing in disguise. If I did not fail with my grades before, maybe I would never met crypto.

It’s a blessing! You don’t want to end up in those crappy 9-5 job 😂

Congratulation grimjaw! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 31min with 47 votes.

You got a 15.22% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @grimjaw!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 11.24 % upvote from @boomerang.

I understand exactly what you mean. I was always aiming for the best grades, having lots of activities after school just to please my parents and make them proud. I found a job they were proud of but did it make ME happy? Well, after 9 years in a job that didn't fullfil me at all I took a chance and started to work on my dreams. I'm going to study raw cooking and eventually open a small bistro. Better later than never! 😊 Let's keep our dreams alive and work towards them! Thank you for an inspirational article!

exactly! the most important is whether you happy or not! I hope you do whatever that makes you happy!

Great Piece, I would like to add that happiness is created in the mind and our thought process daily. I have found true happy people across all walks of life, the poor and the rich. You decide to be happy. Its created in our mind . Thanks for this article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61038.67
ETH 2626.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62